Danish Rice Pudding with Almonds Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by moaa
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
Easy to make. Definitely top it with berries, otherwise, it was like eating those plain-o store bought rice pudding. I didn't enjoy it but my daughter thought it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
Add 1/2 tsp cinnamon to the whipped cream and this is easily the most different and delicious rice pudding ever!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
Great rice pudding. i hate to say this, but it is better than our handed down, family recipe. Best ever....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brentwood, New York, USA
Living In: Rockville Centre, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
My husband is Danish, we have this every Christmas and eat it leading up to Christmas with just slight alterations. We make a large pot of rice plain without almonds, vanilla and cream the day before and eat it for supper with a little butter and sugar cinnamon sprinkled on, the next day we add the cream and almonds and true Danish style top with Cherry sauce. Nom Nom Nom. Niels makes it for my family in Scotland and they LOVE it! Mustn't forget a marzipan pig for the prize when the whole almond has been found!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by racincake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Copenhagen, Hovedstaden, Denmark
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Be careful not to use too much gelatin. The berries taste great with this, so don't leave out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
This recipe tasted just the way i remember it, Perfect! My family always made this at christmas time we had it with Glogg (warm wine drink )mmmmm.Instead of putting raspberries on top we put cherry sauce. Either way its fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
We have this on Christmas Eve too, an old family favorite going back to my Grandmother's Aunt. Our recipie is basically the same but doubled - except fot the cream (Grandma mentioned she often halved the reciped though, so would be very similar!) Instead of sherry, we used 1/2 cup boiling water to dissolve the gelatin, and instead of vanilla we use almond extract. We also add 1/2 cup slivered almonds and 1 whole almond (the one who gets it gets the prize - usally a small box of chocolates or a christmas ornament). Instead of raspberries we use a strawberry sauce. One package of frozen sweetened berries, thawed, cooked with 2 Tbsp of cornstarch and 1/2 c water until thickened. I always tried to get the prize as a kid, eating 2 or 3 bowls until I was ready to burst. I still get teased by family every Christmas Eve when the pudding comes out after supper. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie Achter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Swift Current, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
The Best!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manhattan Beach, California, USA
Living In: Torrance, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Rice Pudding

Learn the secret to making the creamiest ever sweet rice pudding.

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States