Danish Pastry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Melanie S.
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
I finally made Danishes after years of wanting to but too afraid to take the plunge! I'm happy to say that my fears were unfounded. These rose beautifully in the oven, were light and fluffy, and tasted great. However, I did run into a couple of problems, which I will chalk up to inexperience. First, I couldn't get the dough to stay in the shapes that I *tried* to form. Second, the bottoms of the first batch burnt, while the tops were just barely done. I lowered the temp. to 425F for the next pan but the bottoms still began to darken before the tops were baked through, so I switched to "broil" for the last little bit, which worked well. My oven tends to run very hot so next time I will either bake them on a higher rack at 425F or lower the temp. all the way down to 400F.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie S.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
these made beautiful danish i put nutmeg in it and it paired amazingly with apples. I squirted simple syrup on them at the end of bake time and put them in the oven for one more minute. They are better than most danish. Alot of people pull frozen ones out of boxes. A factory danish is no competition for a real baker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
awesome recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
What a fantastic recipe. Exactly what I was looking for. My only mistake was not sandwiching my butter sheets between two separate sheets of wax paper. I made a tower of wax/butter/wax/butter/wax. Needless to say, it was nearly impossible to peel easily. Still won and got the butter off, but not in one solid plank. Now I know for next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wauconda, Illinois, USA
Living In: Auburn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
I will admit it is a bit labor intensive, but a fantastic recipe! I have made it with out the lemon and almond extract and it is still fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
I found the instructions to be inadequate to the task. Admittedly, I am not an expert baker but even so, I didn't understand what I needed to do until I watched a video on YouTube. The butter squished out of the dough when I tried to roll it out and created a giant mess, despite returning it to the refrigerator repeatedly in an effort to keep it cold. Overall, I would never attempt this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
Wonderful, flaky pastry. I used it to make my own version of a "butter braid". My family loved it. As others have said, the recipe is involved, but I was able to get 4 large braids out of it. I baked one immediately, freezing three and all were delicious and rose nicely. I only altered the amount of almond extract to 1/4 the amount as a personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rita
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
This is a super recipe! I had a little over a cup of flour left over that was not needed, my dough was great and easy to work with. I also didn't have active dry yeast on hand, I only had instant yeast, so I used a little more then 3 1/2 teaspoons and they turned out perfect. Made some with Strawberry Preserve, and some with Confectioner's Custard and some with chocolate chips, then drizzled them all with confectioners' sugar and water. I will be making this recipe again and again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
I arbitrarily decided yesterday that I wanted to serve pineapple danish for this morning. I had the frozen pineapple to make a filling, just wasn't sure on the pastry. This is definitely a more sophisticated recipe then many but it works well and is scalable. I used about a quarter of most ingredients and used one envelope of dry yeast. Worked like a charm. Wife loved the result. If you haven't been successful with this, print out the recipe and read it carefully. Slow down. Chill the dough a bit longer. Don't forget to roll the dough out and fold it extra times. On your final roll make sure you get it down to 1/4 inch. Don't forget the rise after you fill the pastry. It will double - it really will especially if you set it on the stove with the oven on (or recently on). Good luck and good pastry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sweet_cuppin_cakes
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
This was really delicious, and the instructions were very clear. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweet_cuppin_cakes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pastry Cream

This sweet, creamy custard is the classic filling for pastries, tarts, and cakes.

Almond Bear Claws

These magnificent bakery favorites are easy to make in your own kitchen.

Cinnamon Rolls III

Make your own amazing mall-style cinnamon rolls!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States