Danish Pastry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2002
This recipe is somewhat complicated and probably not for the novice baker. But the result is out of this world. The directions are clear, easy to follow, and give a good idea of the amount of time needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saugerties, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2002
This makes a tasty danish, but, in my opinion, is a little too labor intensive to make it worthwhile. It was yummy though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYTHA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2003
Excellent recipe, though a lot of preparation time is needed. I would suggest doing steps 1-3 the day before you want to make the danishes, then keep refigerated overnight. If you like pecans you should try cutting the rolled out dough into 14x1 inch strips, cover with broken pecan nuts and maple syrup. Roll up strips and bake. When done, add a thin glaze of almond icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2006
Okay, so I begin by saying I am a novice baker, so don't hold it against the recipe. I didn't like the taste (too much almond) and it was dry. I spent a lot of time on this and was disappointed. I had to scramble to make another dish at the last minute. Not my favorite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2007
I find that adding a little mace, taking out a little almond extract and leaving out the lemon makes it really tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2007
This was alot of work but well worth it in the end!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
Excellent recipe, though a lot of preparation was needed. After making the dough I rolled it out and cooked apples and sweet cream cheese in the center and then let rise and baked it. I took them to work all of my co-works loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2008
Don't be intimidated by this recipe if you have some experience with baking. It truly makes excellent danish. Here are my modifications: Use your Kitchenaid stand mixer to mix all the ingredients for the butter-less basic dough, then attach the dough hook and knead, adding flour as necessary (about 6-7 minutes of kneading). I did not use all the flour (I was short by about 1 cup as the dough was getting saturated and I did not want it to dry out or become tough). Secondly, remove dough hook, remove dough from bowl, spray inside of bowl with non-stick cooking spray, place ball of dough back in sprayed bowl, and spray top of dough with non-stick cooking spray. Third, cover entire stand mixer with a large plastic bag and allow to rise for about 45-60 minutes (or until dough basically is filling the whole bowl). Those three steps right there take out all the work of kneading by hand. I followed everything else to the letter except: I made an apple filling by peeling 4 large granny smith apples and chopping into very small pieces, adding 1/2 cups of sugar and 1 teaspoon of ground cinnamon. I then placed the apple mixture on the stove on medium-high heat, added about 1/3 cup of flour, and allowed apple mixture to cook, stirring frequently, until the apples were soft but still held their shape (about 15-20 minutes of simmering). I then took the apples off the stove and allowed them to sit until I was ready for them. When I was ready to form the pastries, I took one of th
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
182 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2008
this is a great recipe, but honestly only needed a 1/4 of the dough to make one small round coffee cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBY

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LANDABEE
Reviewed: May 26, 2008
This is a good basic recipe. I like the simplification of the puff pastry dough method. To begin, I halved the recipe. For filling, I used one large granny smith apple, peeled and thinly sliced, ½ cinnamon, ½ cup sugar, ½ cup brown sugar, 3 tbsp. cornstarch, and ½ cup water. It cooked over low heat until thickened, then pulsed in food processor. I allowed it to cool while I made a cream cheese filling: 1 block cream cheese, 2 tsp. sour cream, 1 tsp. lemon juice, ½ tsp. vanilla extract, 1 tsp. corn starch. Other than those changes, I followed the recipe. Beautiful pastries! The family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pastry Cream

This sweet, creamy custard is the classic filling for pastries, tarts, and cakes.

Almond Bear Claws

These magnificent bakery favorites are easy to make in your own kitchen.

Cinnamon Rolls III

Make your own amazing mall-style cinnamon rolls!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States