Danish Pastry Apple Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2002
Yummm! My picky eater asked for seconds! Used heavy cream in place of milk for pastry, rolled between plastic wrap for easy handling. Will sprinkle top crust with white sugar next time.10 apples? what size? Used 8 cups thinly sliced Washington Gravestines,fresh off the tree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
This recipe is also called "Apple Slices". That is what my Danish grandmother called them. It's the egg yolk in the dough that makes it different from pie dough. We like this dough much better than pie crust. My mother brought it to every family gathering. When cool, drizzle with glaze made from confectioner's sugar and lemon juice. No water or milk! That also is authentic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2003
I was always afraid of making an Apple Pie. No longer! This recipe was easy and everyone in my family raved. The crust alone is to die for, as it will go with any pie you like. This recipe is a keeper. Thanks Nancy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teri   Yaki

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2003
This recipe was a big hit with my family! The crust was to die for, it was so easy and quick to make. I used an apple peeler corer all in one to slice up the apples, this saved a lot of time. When the bars were still warm I poured a glaze on them that was powder sugar, butter, milk and a little vanilla extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2003
This is easy and delicious ! Great for potlucks. I've even made it with canned apple pie filling,when I'm in a hurry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2003
Excellent recipe, easy to make and dough is easy to handle. I added one tablespoon corn starch to sugar mixture as a thickener. It was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2003
This has become a family favorite. I do a lot of baking and this crust, alone, is fabulous and has become my standard pie crust for any fruit pie. I use Granny Smith for all my apple recipes and have increased the white sugar here due to the tartness of the apples, otherwise, don't change a thing. Thanks, Nancy, for an excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Geneva, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2004
I am not much of a baker, so I attempted anyways.... and to my suprise, it was easy, yummy and it didnt burn!! Even rolling the dough wasn't so bad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2004
You may never bake a round pie again!Not only is this delicious but you dont have to worry about the edges getting too dark as a round pie and it feeds more people.I was out of brown suger so I used all white but drizzled molasses and some honey before mixing apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KEYSOLA

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2005
My husband said this was one of the most awesome desserts he has EVER eaten!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States