Danish Pastry Apple Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2002
Yummm! My picky eater asked for seconds! Used heavy cream in place of milk for pastry, rolled between plastic wrap for easy handling. Will sprinkle top crust with white sugar next time.10 apples? what size? Used 8 cups thinly sliced Washington Gravestines,fresh off the tree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
This recipe is also called "Apple Slices". That is what my Danish grandmother called them. It's the egg yolk in the dough that makes it different from pie dough. We like this dough much better than pie crust. My mother brought it to every family gathering. When cool, drizzle with glaze made from confectioner's sugar and lemon juice. No water or milk! That also is authentic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2003
I was always afraid of making an Apple Pie. No longer! This recipe was easy and everyone in my family raved. The crust alone is to die for, as it will go with any pie you like. This recipe is a keeper. Thanks Nancy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teri   Yaki

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2003
This is easy and delicious ! Great for potlucks. I've even made it with canned apple pie filling,when I'm in a hurry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2003
This recipe was a big hit with my family! The crust was to die for, it was so easy and quick to make. I used an apple peeler corer all in one to slice up the apples, this saved a lot of time. When the bars were still warm I poured a glaze on them that was powder sugar, butter, milk and a little vanilla extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2003
This recipe was very good. My only suggestions are to increase the sugar if you are using Granny Smith apples. I always use those in baking b/c they don't get mushy but this recipe turned out quite tart. Also, moisten some waxed paper to stick to your counter then lightly flour it and roll out the dough. This way you can just lift the wax paper, turn it over and peel it off your crust instead of trying to get the crust off of your counter in one piece. I do recommend the lemon juice/powdered sugar glaze as another suggested, be sure to taste for sweetness before drizzling. I found this recipe is easily halved for a smaller pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodstock, Illinois, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2003
Excellent recipe, easy to make and dough is easy to handle. I added one tablespoon corn starch to sugar mixture as a thickener. It was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2003
This has become a family favorite. I do a lot of baking and this crust, alone, is fabulous and has become my standard pie crust for any fruit pie. I use Granny Smith for all my apple recipes and have increased the white sugar here due to the tartness of the apples, otherwise, don't change a thing. Thanks, Nancy, for an excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Geneva, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2004
I am not much of a baker, so I attempted anyways.... and to my suprise, it was easy, yummy and it didnt burn!! Even rolling the dough wasn't so bad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2004
You may never bake a round pie again!Not only is this delicious but you dont have to worry about the edges getting too dark as a round pie and it feeds more people.I was out of brown suger so I used all white but drizzled molasses and some honey before mixing apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KEYSOLA

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

How to Make Apple Pie

Make the classic All-American pie—and watch tips for picking the perfect apple.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States