Danish Pastry Apple Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2006
I added more cinnamon (I am addicted to it) and an egg to the filling to make it thicker. Over all a very nice recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thenettiep

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irwin, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Valerie's Kitchen
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2006
I'm rating this 4 stars only because I found the crust difficult to work with. I think the end result would have been better if I had been able to roll it thinner. I think next time I will place the crust dough in the refrigerator for an hour before rolling out. Despite the crust being a little thicker than I would have liked the end product was very tasty and looked beautiful. I used 6 gala apples and that was plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Photo by Julia K.
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
FANTASTIC Apple Pie recipe! No brown sugar? Use white sugar, and drizzle a little honey inbetween apple layers. White sugar or honey doesn't hinder the taste, and the honey adds a special flavor. Don't be scared to add a couple extra teaspoons of cinnamon, it only makes it better. The thickness of your apple slices determines the texture of the filling: extra-thin (1 cm) slices for soft filling (almost apple-saucey), and thin (3 cm) slices for chunky apple pie. The fact this pie was in a 9x13 and not in a round pan was PERFECT for my situation - Im in Europe right now, and wanted to share a traditional American recipe, but didnt have a round pan for it! This recipe was the solution, and was a fantastic treat at that. I've made it three times already! And the crust recipe is absolutely wonderful, I've used it for quiches as well. Because this recipe has top and bottom crust, you'll have to alter it a little: Just cut the amount of the ingredients for the dough in half, and there you have a bottom crust for a perfect homemade quiche. (Just say no to ready-made pie forms!) Recommended: 'Belle and Chron's Spinach and Mushroom Quiche ' Note for dough: Keep dough cold!! Easier to work with, and best on a cold marble counter top. Put the second half in the fridge when youre working with the first half. Use your fingers to cut in the shortening, it works the best. And don't stop before its finished, it needs about 3-5 minutes, until its really thoroughly cut in well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clemson, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Erfurt, Thüringen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
Normally we have just a regular, round apple pie but it isn't enough for a larger crowd so I tried this recipe. My family loves it; husband likes it better than my pie and my son called it 'to die for'. Very good although you have to guess on how many apples and whether to thicken or not. Turns out great no matter how you do it. Thank you for a new keeper recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Enon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lacey, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2005
Great recipe! Can use any time of the year, and great recipe for kids to help with- my 6yr old daughter loved making it and rolling on the dough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2005
My husband said this was one of the most awesome desserts he has EVER eaten!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2004
the dough was pretty hard to spread, and before cooked, it was stretched very thin, although it did poof up after being cooked. The top layer I had a hard time fitting. It wasn't too sweet, next time I would add more sugar, or get sweeter apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2004
You may never bake a round pie again!Not only is this delicious but you dont have to worry about the edges getting too dark as a round pie and it feeds more people.I was out of brown suger so I used all white but drizzled molasses and some honey before mixing apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KEYSOLA

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2004
I am not much of a baker, so I attempted anyways.... and to my suprise, it was easy, yummy and it didnt burn!! Even rolling the dough wasn't so bad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2003
This has become a family favorite. I do a lot of baking and this crust, alone, is fabulous and has become my standard pie crust for any fruit pie. I use Granny Smith for all my apple recipes and have increased the white sugar here due to the tartness of the apples, otherwise, don't change a thing. Thanks, Nancy, for an excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Geneva, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

How to Make Apple Pie

Make the classic All-American pie—and watch tips for picking the perfect apple.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States