Danish Pastry Apple Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
This is an excellent recipe, however adding 1/8 teaspoon of cream of tartar to the flour with the salt improves the texture of the crust. We like more spice so I added 1 teaspoon of cinnamon and 1/2 teaspoon of nutmeg. I used splenda instead of sugar and could not tell the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
If the recipe is followed as directed, it will turn out good! It isn't real sweet, which is the way we like it, so if you want yours to be REALLY sweet, add more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
I made a few small half pies by making circles out of the dough and then folding it in half around some of the filling. Turned our beautifully and taste great! came out short on dough and with lots of extra apple filling, so I cooked it with pork chops for dinner. Turned out better than inagineable!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
simple and good, but not that unique
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
I make these as cupcakes. Sometimes I use cherrys and blueberries in place of apples and omit cinnamon, nutmeg, etc. They come out a little sloppy but still taste great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andymin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
Great recipe! I used half mackintosh and half granny smith apples and the taste and texture were perfect. I really liked the crust- will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
I'll never make a round apple pie again. I typically bake for a crowd anyway and this was perfect! My family went nuts over it. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waldorf, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
great crust recipe. the apple mix may need a bit of flour to thicken it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
wonderful recipe- really easy and really good. The crust is amazingly easy to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
This was pretty yummy! I actually thought it was a little bland at first, but the next day it tasted even better. I did like another reviewer did and instead of rolling out the dough, I just patted the dough in the bottom of the pan, layered the apples, then put the rest of the dough in pieces over the top. I also crushed some cornflakes and put them on top of the dough before putting the apples on, and I did the apples first and then let them sit while I made the dough, and poured the syrup that was in the apple bowl over the apples before putting the dough on top. I sprinkled cinnamon and sugar over the top (next time I will dab some butter on top as well) and into the oven it went! Definitely better warmed up the next day with some ice cream and caramel sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kendra Lee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States