Danish Pastry Apple Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 27, 2013
Did not enjoy at all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
I gave this recipe 4 stars only because I believe the proportions are off. I used 6 instead of 10 large granny smith apples. They are tart and they keep their shape when baked. Also, I had enough dough to make 2. I made them each about 10 inches round I placed them on cookie sheets instead of a rectangular 9X13. They turned out flaky and golden brown. Also, I whisked together a little milk and powdered sugar for a glaze to drizzle over the top. Will definately make this again. Yum! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ewen, Michigan, USA
Living In: Marquette, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
I was in a hurry and didn't read the reviews, so I made it exactly as it is written. That said, it is way too tart for my taste. I used Granny Smith apples, and I should have used about 1/4 each more of sugars. I will probably make a powdered sugar glaze to make it a little sweeter so my husband will eat it. I didn't have a problem with it being runny, but my apples were pretty dry when I started. It's pretty much about the same amount of work as regular apple pie, so I will probably just make apple pie next time. It was good to try something new though. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
I made this first following the recipe (except that I used butter in the crust), and it was good. I made it a second time using blueberries instead of apples, and again, it was good! I love the crust--it is so easy to handle even rolled thin for my 11x15 pan, though I did of course roll it out on waxed paper. I wonder what I'll put in it next?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah Jacques

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
Simply awesome! Best apple dessert of the season. I made the recipe as directed but portioned it into two pans to create thinner bars, then drizzled with glaze. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
I love apple pie so I thought I'd give this recipe a try. It wasnt bad, but I was disappointed. For all the work I put into this, I could have just baked an apple pie, and my applie pie recipe definately tastes a lot better than these pastries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
I've always have great success with this recipe. The crust is especially something special (if you use butter instead of shortening). It makes a perfect amount for a traditional double pie crust with embellishments. To make prep a snap I put the flour and salt in my 11-cup food processor. I cut the butter into tablespoons then toss all of it into the processor bowl and turn it on until it resembles wet beach sand. Then I put it in a bowl and add the milk/yolk mixture and kneed it together with my hands. After chilling it rolls like a dream. I've used it for all my pies for years. Thanks Nancy for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
This is a really simple and delicious dish! My kids loved it and I will make it again. I made it just has directed. Only thing I would say in the instructions is to place it in the pan like a pie crust with the bottom crust going up the sides. I just laid it on the bottom and then realized I had to seal it to the top crust. I had to dig for my edges. It was still fantastic! Thanks Nancy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Frankfort, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
This was so good! We served it with vanilla ice cream, yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Shum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbett, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
I lined my pan with foil to make it easier to remove, I used Granny Smith apples, added 1 tbsp flour and doubled the cinnamon, these were a big hit! I have started using my food processor to make the dough and it makes it so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 11-20 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

How to Make Apple Pie

Make the classic All-American pie—and watch tips for picking the perfect apple.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States