Danish Pastry Apple Bars II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
I read all the reviews and combined them which my Danish husband said was the best Danish he ever tasted! So here is what I did. 1. I sliced the apples, stirred through 2 dsp brown sugar and spices and let them drain in a sieve for a few hours (because I had the time) and it was amazing to see the amount of liquid that came out. 2. I reserved this liquid and it went towards the combined water and egg yolk which I limited to 2/3 cup as suggested by many readers. I topped it up to the 2/3 mark with milk not water 3. I used oatmeal instead of cornflakes to lay over the base pastry, in order to soak up any extra juices and keep the pastry firm, not soggy. 4. I also stirred through 2 tsp cornflour through the apple mix in the sieve after they had drained to combat sogginess. 5. I only used 1/2 cup sugar plus the 2 dsp brown sugar that I stirred through the apples to help them weep. 6. I made 1.5 times the amount of pie crust and made sure to fold up the sides of the base a little, to hold in the filling. 7. I did not really think the egg white on top looked nice at all. I brushed with milk second time round. 8. I rolled out the pastry on the baking mat to be able to lift into the tin easily and then decided just to bake it on the silicone mat inside the tin. It worked brilliantly and was so easy to lift out. I hope this helps. The pastry was to die for. No sogginess and the flavour just got better a few days later. Luckily we made plenty! We ate it hot, we ate it cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
I made several changes previously suggested and it worked out beautifully. I used milk instead of water and measured the yolk and milk to equal 1/2 cup (and I did not use the full 1/2 cup, but the dough was moist but not sticky). I chilled the dough for 30 minutes before rolling it out. It made it easy to work with it. Rolling it out on a lightly floured surface. Someone suggested to roll out the dough on a lightly floured silicone pastry mat and then flip it into the pan - this worked beautifully as it is thin and with the butter, even with chilling, had a tendency to stick a bit. I like the flavor of almond and noticed almond extract was used in the icing. I decided to try something I had been considering ever since I saw it at the grocery store. Because we have an apple tree, which is why I chose an apple recipe in the first place, but my family was getting tired of typical apple/cinnamon desserts, I bought a can of Solo brand Almond cake and pastry filling. It tastes like the filling in almond kringle. Instead of sugar & cinnamon sprinkled over the apples, I used a butter knife and laid/spread the almond filling over the apples (NO ADDITIONAL SUGAR AND NO CINNAMON). It was EXQUISITE!! My whole family loved it! Now I am making the same dessert for the football team at our high school!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
I loved this but as usual I struggle with pastry dough...made it twice so far with differing results. I am determined to get this right! It has always been delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy Desfosses-Gast

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Klemme, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
Very simple, tastes like pie. TO save a few calories you can skip the glaze, it's good either way. I made mine in a stoneware pan and the crust gets very nice. I also sprinkle a bit of cinnamon and sugar mised on the top crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
Better than apple pie. I have made these bars exactly as written, and I have also made them replacing the milk in the icing with lemon juice...gives them a nice bit of acidity to play off the sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
This is going to annoy those who rate recipes after making changes but like others, I used milk and egg yolk to make 2/3 cup for the crust. I used a 7" x 11" and the crust fit great. I used Golden Crisco in the crust. I used 2 golden delicious apples and 3 gala and they held their space and didn't turn to applesauce. I used oatmeal instead of cornflakes and you can't tell it's even there. I used the same amount of sugar / cinnamon even though I used less apples. I know I made many changes (different size pan, shortening, less apples, milk, oatmeal and less luquid) but after learning from other's mistakes or tips, I'm glad I made the changes I did and enjoyed this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
wonderful recipe!! Family loved it!! I barely had enough crust, so I think next time I wil 1 1/2 times the crust ingredients. Otherwise everything was perfect!!Thank you for a great recipe!! I've never been good at rolling out crust...but I am determined to conquer! lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie V.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Turton, South Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
The flavor of these were really good, but require quite a few adjustments so I only gave 2 stars. I bought 10 granny smith apples for this and was skeptical because it seemed like a lot, but the reviews said the same thing but they said it turned out great because they bake down. I started piling these sliced apple pieces in and I ended using about half and it still was way too much. It ended up more like a hand-held pie than a bar. I added some brown sugar to the crust and it was great. I also doubled the glaze, and I'm not a glaze person, but it was good, and even doubled it is very thin over the pan. Again, the flavor was good, but I was expecting and wanting more of an apple cookie bar that could be cut very pretty to serve, and it was more like a cut up pie - and this was with half the apples used! Also have to be served same day, the crust was pretty soggy the day after.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
I have made this recipe for 30 years and always gets rave reviews. My son requested this every year for his birthday. It was not his birthday unless he got his apple bars. It is a great fall treat. I like to put on a caramel frosting on this but the powdered sugar frosting if fine also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
I thought this was good, but nothing like the other reviews made it out to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Easy Apple Crisp

An easy apple crisp made with white cake mix, cinnamon, and butter.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States