Danish Pastry Apple Bars II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
I loved this but as usual I struggle with pastry dough...made it twice so far with differing results. I am determined to get this right! It has always been delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy Desfosses-Gast

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Klemme, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
Very simple, tastes like pie. TO save a few calories you can skip the glaze, it's good either way. I made mine in a stoneware pan and the crust gets very nice. I also sprinkle a bit of cinnamon and sugar mised on the top crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
Better than apple pie. I have made these bars exactly as written, and I have also made them replacing the milk in the icing with lemon juice...gives them a nice bit of acidity to play off the sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
This is going to annoy those who rate recipes after making changes but like others, I used milk and egg yolk to make 2/3 cup for the crust. I used a 7" x 11" and the crust fit great. I used Golden Crisco in the crust. I used 2 golden delicious apples and 3 gala and they held their space and didn't turn to applesauce. I used oatmeal instead of cornflakes and you can't tell it's even there. I used the same amount of sugar / cinnamon even though I used less apples. I know I made many changes (different size pan, shortening, less apples, milk, oatmeal and less luquid) but after learning from other's mistakes or tips, I'm glad I made the changes I did and enjoyed this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
wonderful recipe!! Family loved it!! I barely had enough crust, so I think next time I wil 1 1/2 times the crust ingredients. Otherwise everything was perfect!!Thank you for a great recipe!! I've never been good at rolling out crust...but I am determined to conquer! lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SDROSIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Turton, South Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
The flavor of these were really good, but require quite a few adjustments so I only gave 2 stars. I bought 10 granny smith apples for this and was skeptical because it seemed like a lot, but the reviews said the same thing but they said it turned out great because they bake down. I started piling these sliced apple pieces in and I ended using about half and it still was way too much. It ended up more like a hand-held pie than a bar. I added some brown sugar to the crust and it was great. I also doubled the glaze, and I'm not a glaze person, but it was good, and even doubled it is very thin over the pan. Again, the flavor was good, but I was expecting and wanting more of an apple cookie bar that could be cut very pretty to serve, and it was more like a cut up pie - and this was with half the apples used! Also have to be served same day, the crust was pretty soggy the day after.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
I have made this recipe for 30 years and always gets rave reviews. My son requested this every year for his birthday. It was not his birthday unless he got his apple bars. It is a great fall treat. I like to put on a caramel frosting on this but the powdered sugar frosting if fine also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
I thought this was good, but nothing like the other reviews made it out to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
I made this yesterday using pears instead of apples. It is wonderful. I accidentally reduced the sugar to 1/2 cup, but it was still great. Definitely will be one my regular favorites list!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
Really yummy! Used a mixture of apples which made it even better, they boiled down well when they cooked. Icing kinda blobbed together, next time will make it a bit thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Easy Apple Crisp

Apple crisp made with white cake mix, sugar, cinnamon and butter.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States