Danish Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
I am Donna Q and I posted this recipe. All Recipes made a few changes to it before putting in on the website. 1. Parchment paper is not necessary. I've never had these cookies stick. 2. Mix ingredients well but batter should not be smooth! The nuts and oatmeal are what give them the great texture. 3. Use a teaspoon to drop onto cookie sheet so that the cookies are very small. Because they're crumbly and sugared they are easier to eat if they are really small. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
185 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
YUMMY! For a smoother texture put the oats in a food processor or blender. Then pulse it until you have the consistency of flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
WONDERFUL EUROPEAN VERSION! I ROLLED THEM IN ABOUT 1 ROUNDED TABLESPOON BALL TO BAKE (LIKE PEANUT BUTTER COOKIES) AND DOUBLE DIPPED THEM IN A BOWLFUL OF POWDERED SUGAR, ONCE WHEN THEY ARE SEMI-WARM ON THE COOKIE RACK, AND WHEN THEY ARE COMPLETELY COOLED. I ALSO LOWERED THE COOKING TIME TO 15 MINUTES. YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by anne
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
Really good cookies. Buttery, light and crisp and delicate. Used regular oatmeal right from the container (did not process) - these are supposed to have flakes of oatmeal in them. Chopped my pecans up pretty small. Easy to mix up with a wooden spoon and probably don't need parchment. Excellent! Give 'em a try!! **** OK, I wanted to make them smaller so I made 1" balls. Def the way to go - makes the shape more uniform too. Didn't dust with powdered sugar. Posted pics. Man oh man, these are delicious! ***This is my third update: I chilled the dough and then rolled into balls. They stay a little puffed up that way and I like them better than flat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anne

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
This is like an awesome cross between a sandie cookie and a shortbread cookie. If you want oatmeal flour as suggested, just put oatmeal in your food processor or blender to do that. (THAT was a terrific suggestion too) I had good results with oatmeal blended this way. Melt in your mouth goodness! Don't sub margerine for butter unless you want to change the taste and texture of this great cookie. It is perfect as written and was well received by everyone in our house. My oldest called this cookie "naughty" because you can't eat just one. Thanks for a keeper recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
Will make again, definitely one of my favorites. Something different and delicious. I had no pecans so I used chopped walnuts. Used parchment paper, probably not necessary. 300 degrees, 11 minutes using convection. Made 74.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CPA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2010
What a treat!!!! SO DE-LI-CI-OUS. However I made few chjanges as I'm intolerant to gluten & my husband has diabete. So I used rice flour, barley flakes, raisins instead of respectively wheat flour, oatmeal & pecans. I also cut down on sugar by half. In spite of all these changes it came out really great. They've become my favorites now & will make tem again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
DE-li-cious! Thank you! Quite the crumbly little cookie and next time I will make it smaller (more bite size). I read your comment about making them small and did, but not small enough apparently. Wonderful, though. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by phoebe
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
we love it !! it tastes so good, oh my god! i will definitely make it again and again~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by phoebe

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 26, 2010
Very delicious - light and so so buttery! I took the reviewer's advice who said to pulse the oats in the food processor before adding and it made them have a great texture. I didn't need the parchment paper either - there is so much butter in there that there is no way it will stick to the pan. Also, it didn't make 60, it made 30 - maybe I made them too big? But I did a scant tablespoon...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen R.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rohnert Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States