Danish Meatballs with Dill Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
These could be good if you use HALF the butter, light or non-fat sour cream and half-n-half rather than heavy cream. Very, very greasy. The sauce needs some seasoning too. Cracked black pepper, and possibly a dash of nutmeg. Some sautéed garlic would be a nice addition, too. Two stars for a lack of seasoning, and too much fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
We used premade meatballs and beef broth instead of chicken broth. The sauce was really good and tasted great over egg noodles. It is a really rich and filling meal. It would probably make a great appetizer meatball for a party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
I fried the meatballs, and they turned out crispy and great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wonder Becky

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
This is different from what I usually make and I like it. I used only lean beef as that is what I had on hand. I did use more dill as I do like it too. I ate it on noodles but this would be great as an appy as MPFEIFFER states.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Concord, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
I included this at Hubs' request as part of our New Year's Eve array of appetizers. I wasn't enthusiastic about it but surprisingly found I was a lot fonder of them than I thought I'd be. But I did bump up the flavor a bit since I noticed that other than some salt, pepper and a little onion it was totally lacking any seasoning. I knew some garlic, fresh parsley and a few shakes of Worcestershire sauce couldn't hurt. More important, it wasn't until after I had the meatballs mixed up that I realized, to my surprise, that the bread crumbs weren't intended to be included in the mix - rather, the meatballs were to be rolled in them. Frankly, that seemed odd to me, so I'm glad I made the "mistake" of adding the bread crumbs, the traditional way, to the meat mixture. But it's really the sauce that brings these meatballs to life - creamy with a pronounced fresh dill flavor. These were part of our assortment of appetizers for our New Year's Eve celebration, but the ample amount left over will be great reheated and served over hot, buttered noodles. Four stars rather than five simply for the instruction to roll the meatballs in bread crumbs rather than adding them to the meat mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
For the meatballs, I used equal parts pork and beef and they were among the most delicious I've ever had. I know many people suggest substitution of frozen meatballs, but I'd really only support that idea if absolutely necessary. The homemade variety is really worth the effort. Also, I added some cornstarch (I know, I know) to the sauce to thicken it a little more. The dill is just brilliant and with the homemade meatballs it elevates a common and tired entree to something you'll be excited to make. Highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LeCoeur

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Grand Prairie, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2011
I tried this sauce last night with store bought turkey meatballs and made rice instead of pasta. I also added a bit of parmesan cheese to balance out the sour cream taste. Everybody loved it...all went back for seconds. No leftovers this time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
Even after many mishaps (not reading my directions quite thoroughly enough), these turned out great. Turns out that you can accidentally skip the heavy cream and the meatballs will still turn out fine. I'll try it the right way next time, though. I think also in the interest of cutting down the expense, I might not use all three meats. I'm not sure how this will change the character of the meatballs, though. I followed suggestions to put the breadcrumbs in directly with the meat, which also seemed to work well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niles, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
i made my own meatballs, which are always a hit, but wanted to try this sauce. i really wanted to like it, but it was way too much sour cream taste. it wasn't terrible, but i knew my family wouldn't like it. my husband stepped in and added garlic, some italian seasoning, and parmesan and that made it better, but it's not something i would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Raytown, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
This was good! I used all ground beef because that is what I had. Cut down the salt and they were still a little salty to me. Overall the whole family liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Spaghetti Sauce with Meatballs

This classic tomato pasta sauce with meatballs is easy and delicious.

Hudson’s Baked Tilapia with Dill Sauce

See how to make simple baked tilapia with a creamy dill sauce.

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States