Danish Kringle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
OMG, if you have never tried kringle, you HAVE to make this recipe. My family and my work friends went absolutely crazy for it and are still talking about it to anyone who will listen. The dough is super simple to make and work with. It is so flaky, but dense and moist, and not too sweet, it's perfect! What I did was to divide the dough in half and put cherry pie filling in one half and half of the brown sugar/butter/nuts recipe in the other. The only change I would make is that the brown sugar/butter/nuts one had WAY too much butter. I used 1 stick (1/2 cup) and it leaked out everywhere and I ended up pouring at least a 1/4 cup of melted butter off of the pan because the kringle was swimming in it. Gross. When I made it again, I just dotted penny sized butter pieces sparsely over the brown sugar/nuts mixture as it lay in the dough and it worked fine, no problems. So definitely cut the butter down. I also made one where I microwaved frozen peach slices until soft, then mashed them with a potato masher with a little sugar and used that as filling. It was wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wendy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2002
I made this for the holidays for gifts and they were super! Everyone wanted the recipe. The only thing I would like to add is to make sure not to cut all the way up to the filling, Otherwise your filling seeps out while cooking, ask me how i know! ! ; )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2003
If I had rated this recipe before eating the end result, I would have given it only 3 or 4 stars. Try as I may, there was no way I was going to get 3 kringles out of the amount of dough the recipe makes. I ended up with 2 and then the cuts were a little too long or something because a lot of the filling seeped out during baking. However, I transferred them immediatly upon removal from the oven to a clean surface so they wouldn't get stuck to the pan. The end result tastes absolutely awesome and in the end, was worth the trouble I had. I will make these again, doubling the amount of dough and making sure that my cuts aren't too long so the filling doesn't leak out. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Schenectady, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GODSGIRL
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
This recipe gets 5 stars for tasting good and 5 stars for fun making it. One tip is to use a pizza cutter to make the cuts. It keeps the dough from tearing. Another good tip is to pay attention when the recipe says "heavily floured surface". You will have a lot of trouble with the dough if you are too cheap with the flour. I was able to make 3 just fine but its so much easier to work with when its cold so you have to roll fast. I made one with apricot preserves and cream cheese, cooked apples and cream cheese, and vanilla custard with chocolate drizzle. All three were delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GODSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waldorf, Maryland, USA
Living In: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2001
This is a great recipe! I was so happy to find it as it reminds me of my childhood. The dough works up very nice as long as you keep it cold. I doubled the recipe and it worked fine. I also used canned pie filling for the filling and it worked great. Thank You for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2002
A little work but worth the effort! I used pie filling und it turned out great; my family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2006
I was afraid that the dough wasn't going to work but it turned out really buttery and flaky. I filled my Kringle with strawberries and sprinkled with raw sugar and egg white before baking. My entire family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midland, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2002
I'm a star with my family for finding this recipe! At every Schmidt (my maiden name) family reunion I go to, there's always someone saying how they wish they could make kringle, it's their favorite, and on and on. My granddad grew up in Wisconsin near a bakery, and he got to have fresh kringle on a regular basis. I'm making him this for Christmas, and can't wait to see if it's just as good as he remembers it. Thanks for sharing, Colleen! More comments coming later...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medical Lake, Washington, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
I made this for Easter dessert and it came out great and none was left for me to take home! All I did was make the dough as directed, divided it in 2, filled each with a 1/2 can cherry pie filling and baked as directed. I'm from Wisconsin and this is very close to the Kringle I remember. It was so easy that I will definitely make in the future! I didn't have too much trouble with it dripping onto the pan. It was fine. Thanks for this tasty recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stevens Point, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MSelvidio
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
Super delicious! After trying a few fillings, I've decided that I like fruit preserves the best. Putting a bit of vanilla extract into the glaze also gives it extra flavor. I very easily got three kringles out of this recipe. Also, I used the dough recipe for pot pie crusts - Yum! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSelvidio

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

BBQ Pork-Stuffed Corn Muffins

Watch how to make baked corn muffins stuffed with leftover BBQ pork.

E-Z Drop Biscuits

See how to make quick-and-easy drop biscuits from scratch.

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States