Danish Kringle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
First of all I cut the recipe in half, and second I only kept it in the frig for abt 2 hours. OMG! the dough became so not manageable. I am lucky to have placed it on a marble board when it happened. I put it back in the frig for another hour. I was then able to scrape it up with a spatula. Lesson learned. It still came out wonderful! The glaze, in my opinion, makes or breaks it. Also, the next time I make it, I am going to place the marble board in the frig as well for a couple hours to chill. It saved my kringle this time! (Also, since I'm so impatient, I can roll out the dough in less time again :-) ) I was able to make 2 different kringles when I made only half the recipe. It is a lot of fun, take the chance and make some. I made cream cheese for the filling since my hubby is a diabetic, didnt want to shock him.....yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KITTYKATTz

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
So good! I made one kringle today, and it's already gone. I didn't have any sour cream for the dough, so I substituted a mixture of vanilla yogurt and baking soda (1 cup yogurt, 1 tsp baking soda) and it worked just fine. I would say to use your judgment on the filling. I added brown sugar until I was satisfied, and only used a tiny bit of butter, and still had some leak out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
This was absolutely delicious! My family obsesses over kringle so we were all really excited to try this. We were not disappointed. I decreased the butter a little per other reviews and it came out perfect! Surprisingly not difficult to make. You just need to plan ahead since the dough needs to refrigerate overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
I made this recipe as written. It is fabulous. The crust is sooo flakey. I also made it with cherry filling. I gave some away for xmas and everyone loved it. This recipe is a keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
I made this for the first time this Christmas (for brunch) because my husband's family is from Wisconsin (near Racine, where Kringle is very popular). My husband was leery of me trying this recipe for the FIRST time on such a big holiday, but I gave it a shot, and it turned out wonderful, a very flaky pastry. I used almond paste (instead of the walnut filling in the recipe) to keep it easy, as well as cherry pie filling (I doubled the recipe, with so many people in the house). I had made a braid before, though, so I knew how to make the pattern, my sister-in-law and mother-in-law asked for the recipe, said they'll definitely be making this for special occasions as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Traer, Iowa, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
This was amazing! I made a cream cheese mixture of 8 oz cream cheese 1/2 cup sugar and an egg. I made one with the mixture and jell, the second cream cheese mixture, strawberry jell, and chocolate, the third cream cheese, chocolate, caramel and chopped pecans. Simply amazing. Have fun with the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ChefScharny
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
A great kringle.... I am excited to try different fillings with it but the walnut brown sugar one was definately really good.... the flacky crust really makes this recipe great... I made 1/3 of the recipe to just make one kringle... turned out well.. the dough works well when it is cold... next time I will try rolling it out on floured parchment paper for easier transfer to the baking sheet... also make sure the cuts aren't too long or you will lose the filling... follow these pointers and you will get a GREAT Kringle
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Zachary McKinley
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
The Kringle turned out get for the first time making it, It did have a little over flow but that was just a learning experience. instead of the brown sugar filling I used raspberry preserves and instead of using water with the powdered sugar I used milk. Deffinately looking forward to trying different filling combinations
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zachary McKinley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bonnie McLeod Boord
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
For taste alone, i would give this 5 stars. I used my food processor for the dough,(very cold butter cut into cubes and flour pulse until it looks like coarse crumbs, then add sour cream & pulse just til it pulls together)My filling leaked out the sides too. I think in the braiding you need to fold up some of the bottom to make a side. I will make this again and maybe just fold over the top and make a traditional oval for my mom who is from Wisconsin, I know she will love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie McLeod Boord

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
I made this into individual danishes and filled half of them with a cream cheese filling and the other half with homemade strawberry pie filling. They are amazing! The recipe made 8 large and 4 small danish rounds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

BBQ Pork-Stuffed Corn Muffins

Watch how to make baked corn muffins stuffed with leftover BBQ pork.

E-Z Drop Biscuits

See how to make quick-and-easy drop biscuits from scratch.

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States