Danish Kringle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
Use less butter. I made 2 with brown sugar and walnuts and one with cherry pie filling and cream cheese with almond flavored drizzle. Served at Easter brunch and everyone liked them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cawael

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Byron, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I made this the way the recipe said and it was amazing!!!! My husband is a Nutella nut so I filled one with that and lets just say he really appreciated it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mixit
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
Have to admit I put cherry pie filling in this, but even then the pastry deserves 5 stars alone. I had so much fun making it. Next time I will try the called-for filling, I'm sure that would be wonderful and probably about a dozen other fillings would be too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
This recipe is a big hit with my family, though I haven't tried it with the nut filling. I usually make it with apples or raspberry with a cheese filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
I made this recipe for Christmas Eve and dessert on Christmas Day - family and friends took slices home for the next day's breakfast. Just fabulous and easy. You can fill it with anything you want and the taste is always different. Also, it freezes very well for two months or so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minden, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
This kringle is amazing. I have made with both homemade raspberry jam & the nut mixture. We loved both. I used parchment paper for rolling and it worked well. I also baked it on the parchment paper for easy clean up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Very good stuff! I made three kinds: the original recipe, one with raspberry filling atop a cream cheese mixture (with powdered sugar and 1/8 tsp. of almond extract), as well as one with just strawberry filling. I doubled the recipe to make double of each of these flavors [the raspberry one was also topped in slivered almonds], and I shaped two raspberry danishes into a giant wreath by using a round pizza pan to bake them. All but the strawberry ones look lovely, because the strawberry ran like crazy but tasted delicious anyway. The pastry reminds me of kolachies, although not so sweet since they are rolled out in flour instead of powdered sugar. The dough would also probably be a pretty easy pie crust to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
This is delicious! I've been wanting to make this for a long time. After a messy first round and following other reviews, this is what I did. Using food processor, pulsed the butter & flour together until it looked like crumbs. Than I added in sour cream plus 2 tsp almond extract. Chilled dough overnight. Rolled dough (made 3 braids) out onto floured parchment. Rolled it thin. Used pizza cutter to make slits, just short ones. When braiding, the slits are only on top and the sides are solid, so the filling does not ooze out. Brushed with egg white and sprinkled Swedish pearl sugar on top (in place of icing glaze), then bake. Used canned pie fillings, apricot, cherry, black raspberry. One can fills 2 braids. Family loved this, making a bunch for xmas and freezing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
Ever since I moved away from my hometown in Wisconsin, I've been just dying for a taste of proper Kringle and this recipe delivered everything I've been hankering after. I made this on a lark to surprise Hubby for breakfast a few days ago and it was just fantastic! The Kringle was delish fresh out of the oven, but even better hours after it cooled. The crust fell apart on me a bit before I tossed it in the oven, but turned out flakey and superb anyway (be sure to cut your butter in VERY well! I got lazy!) and during the baking process I fretted a bit about how messy it looked with filling seeping out everywhere but OMG, I so didn't have to worry! The only thing I think I'll change next time is adding a teensy bit of vanilla and sugar to the pastry mixture before tossing it in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tane4ka77
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
oh my god, it's wonderful danish, so easy to make , tasty , and good looking , i put cream cheese with brown sugar and its was really good too, thanks a lot for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tane4ka77

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

BBQ Pork-Stuffed Corn Muffins

Watch how to make baked corn muffins stuffed with leftover BBQ pork.

E-Z Drop Biscuits

See how to make quick-and-easy drop biscuits from scratch.

Sugar Glazed Pecans

Learn how to make this quick and easy, sweet and savory snack.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States