Danish Kringle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2004
My daughter and I made this for her dad's birthday. We only got two kringles out of the dough. I think it would have been too difficult to work with if we had tried for three. We made one as directed and filled the other with apple pie filling. They were both delicious. There was some oozing of the filling, but we just removed them from the baking sheet right away and they looked great. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2004
I made these in a smaller version for Christmas and everyone raved about them. I used apple jelly (tinted green) and raspberry jam for filling. Looked wonderful and tasted even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2003
If I had rated this recipe before eating the end result, I would have given it only 3 or 4 stars. Try as I may, there was no way I was going to get 3 kringles out of the amount of dough the recipe makes. I ended up with 2 and then the cuts were a little too long or something because a lot of the filling seeped out during baking. However, I transferred them immediatly upon removal from the oven to a clean surface so they wouldn't get stuck to the pan. The end result tastes absolutely awesome and in the end, was worth the trouble I had. I will make these again, doubling the amount of dough and making sure that my cuts aren't too long so the filling doesn't leak out. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Schenectady, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2003
My family and co-workers just loved this recipe! They cannot wait for me to make it again. The filling did ooze out while baking, but it did not ruin the kringle, just check on it while its baking to make sure the filling doesn't spill on the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2003
The dough for this recipe was good, but the filling oozed out and burned. The presentation was not how I had expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2003
I made this for my husband for Father's Day using 1/2 cup apricot preserves for each section, plus sprinkling the walnut topping on each - YUMMY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
This was good, but the filling oozed out of the dough and burned on the cookie sheet by the time the dough was done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2002
A little work but worth the effort! I used pie filling und it turned out great; my family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2002
I'm a star with my family for finding this recipe! At every Schmidt (my maiden name) family reunion I go to, there's always someone saying how they wish they could make kringle, it's their favorite, and on and on. My granddad grew up in Wisconsin near a bakery, and he got to have fresh kringle on a regular basis. I'm making him this for Christmas, and can't wait to see if it's just as good as he remembers it. Thanks for sharing, Colleen! More comments coming later...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medical Lake, Washington, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2002
My fiance took this to work and they loved it! I loved how easy it was to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

BBQ Pork-Stuffed Corn Muffins

Watch how to make baked corn muffins stuffed with leftover BBQ pork.

E-Z Drop Biscuits

See how to make quick-and-easy drop biscuits from scratch.

Sugar Glazed Pecans

Learn how to make this quick and easy, sweet and savory snack.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States