Danish Kringle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by jessitlv
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
I don't know what a kringle is but this was a delicous danish. The dough was easy to work with and I had no problems with the filling leaking. I doubled the recipe and got 3 large pieces. I used apple and cherry pie filling. The finished product was beautiful and looked a like a lot more work then it actually was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fallston, Maryland, USA
Living In: Sunland Park, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
I have the students in my culinary school make this recipe all the time. We usually sell this for a fundraiser during the holidays and it is always a big hit! It is a simple reicpe and we always get three pieces out of it. I have found that it is hard to tranfer to the pan so we use 2 large spatulas at either end and this keeps us from having too many casualties! Hope you enjoy it, Chef Dave
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2007
It tasted good, but my husband said it reminded him more of a strudel than a kringle. Had enough dough to make 2: a walnut and one with apple pie filling. The walnut reminded me of baclava and we enjoyed the apple pie filling more, both were a sweet treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
Soooo good. I initially rolled in (a lot) of flour right on my counter, but could not have possibly moved it to my baking sheet, so I rolled it (and then baked it) right on my silicone baking mat. I only had a little cherry filling leak, but there was no burning, again thanks to the siclione. Drizzled with cream cheese frosting and this was the first to go at our ladies brunch! Can't wait to make again tomorrow for my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
OMG, if you have never tried kringle, you HAVE to make this recipe. My family and my work friends went absolutely crazy for it and are still talking about it to anyone who will listen. The dough is super simple to make and work with. It is so flaky, but dense and moist, and not too sweet, it's perfect! What I did was to divide the dough in half and put cherry pie filling in one half and half of the brown sugar/butter/nuts recipe in the other. The only change I would make is that the brown sugar/butter/nuts one had WAY too much butter. I used 1 stick (1/2 cup) and it leaked out everywhere and I ended up pouring at least a 1/4 cup of melted butter off of the pan because the kringle was swimming in it. Gross. When I made it again, I just dotted penny sized butter pieces sparsely over the brown sugar/nuts mixture as it lay in the dough and it worked fine, no problems. So definitely cut the butter down. I also made one where I microwaved frozen peach slices until soft, then mashed them with a potato masher with a little sugar and used that as filling. It was wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wendy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
I made this for Easter dessert and it came out great and none was left for me to take home! All I did was make the dough as directed, divided it in 2, filled each with a 1/2 can cherry pie filling and baked as directed. I'm from Wisconsin and this is very close to the Kringle I remember. It was so easy that I will definitely make in the future! I didn't have too much trouble with it dripping onto the pan. It was fine. Thanks for this tasty recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stevens Point, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
Easy to make to dough! Don't cut into the rolled out dough too far! Just cut a third of the way on each side. I used slivered almonds in the filling instead of walnuts to make a "Bear Claw" pastry. It turned out fine! Try it. You'll be happy that you did! Just save some almonds to sprinkle on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gardena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
Not what I expected at all. I had high hopes for this recipe. I am an experienced baker and have come across much better recipes. This one was difficult to work with. The filling oozed out and burnt on the pan while baking. The dough was not easy to manipulate. Definitely not enough dough for three braids as I had a hard enough time making two out of the dough. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
This recipe was absolutely wonderful. I served it to my Saturday morning prayer group to rave reviews. It was also loved by my husband. I found it very easy to make and will definitley make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLSOP

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bremen, Indiana, USA
Living In: Rochester, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2006
I was afraid that the dough wasn't going to work but it turned out really buttery and flaky. I filled my Kringle with strawberries and sprinkled with raw sugar and egg white before baking. My entire family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midland, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

BBQ Pork-Stuffed Corn Muffins

Watch how to make baked corn muffins stuffed with leftover BBQ pork.

E-Z Drop Biscuits

See how to make quick-and-easy drop biscuits from scratch.

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States