Danish Kringle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Excellant recipe, I was able to get three Kringles out of the recipe, next time I will put it in the refrigerator more like a log than a ball. Would make it easier to cut in thirds. I should have reread Wendy's suggestion of just dotting the butter, only used 1 stick 1/2 cup and had burnt butter all over. Thankfully I had used parchment paper, sprayed pan lightly with vegetable spray, laid down the paper and sprayed the top with more vegetable spray. Clean up was a breaze. Made two with the brown sugar, butter & walnuts and the third one I dotted cream cheese and strawberry pie filling, both were good. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Seals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Newcastle, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
This recipe was amazing! The dough was soft, flakey and versatile. I made three diffrent kinds of filling, cinnamon roll, cream cheese with blueberries and apple pie. By far the apple pie was the BEST! I also used half sour cream and half cream cheese in the dough, and it worked very well. Use your imagination and im sure this recipe would hold up to it well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rye, Texas, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
I thought this recipe was very good for homemade danish. It is very rich, especially if you fill it with pie fillings. I made it just as the recipe instructed, and then I experimented with other fillings. Next time, I will try fruit sprinkled with a tiny bit of sugar for sweetness. I think it will complement the pastry well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShopCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Basehor, Kansas, USA
Living In: Linwood, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
Very yummy and fairly easy. Looks like it came from a fancy bakery. I made the exact recipe and the filling did seep everywhere even when I left plenty of space. I think it might be the amount of butter in the filling. I'm going to try a different filling next time. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quincy, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
So easy to make, and better than any store-bought I have ever had! For one, I made an apricot filling. None of the filling leaked out. For the other I just spread apple jelly down the middle. The apple jelly one seeped all over when I baked it, but it still tasted great! Everyone raved, will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
What can I possibly say other than WOW?! This was absolutely amazing! Tasted exactly like the Kringle I used to get the bakery next to my grandmother's house in Texas! I too, like several other reviewers, wasn't able to get 3 kringles out of the dough, only two, which is fine by me. I used a peach pie filling in both of mine, but cut out more than half of the syrup and added small chunks of cream cheese and they turned out AMAZING. My younger brother, who never really eats any kind of pastries or anything sweet, ate half of one within five minutes of them coming out of the oven. I really wish I could try it with the intended filling, but my boyfriend is allergic to nuts and I don't want to risk even having them in the house. But seriously, this is an amazing recipe! Thank you so much for sharing! Definately will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakingNerd

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harker Heights, Texas, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2009
My expectations were too high. Don't get me wrong, it's good ... but it's basically pie in a different shape. We wanted an apple version so I cored, peeled and sliced 4 Granny Smith apples, tossed in a little butter, cinnamon and brown sugar and cooked until the apples were tender. If you do this you MUST wait until the apples have cooled before putting on the pastry or you'll get a gooey mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
Family agreed that this was the ORIGINAL recipe and tasted exactly as they remembered it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Lehi, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
this was easy to make and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
Very easy to make..And very delish!! I used canned apple pie, and blackberry pie filling and, I watched them fly off the plate! Very elegant and very tastey! Thank you for posting this recipe! We LOVE it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

BBQ Pork-Stuffed Corn Muffins

Watch how to make baked corn muffins stuffed with leftover BBQ pork.

E-Z Drop Biscuits

See how to make quick-and-easy drop biscuits from scratch.

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States