Danish Kringle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 1, 2009
My expectations were too high. Don't get me wrong, it's good ... but it's basically pie in a different shape. We wanted an apple version so I cored, peeled and sliced 4 Granny Smith apples, tossed in a little butter, cinnamon and brown sugar and cooked until the apples were tender. If you do this you MUST wait until the apples have cooled before putting on the pastry or you'll get a gooey mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
Family agreed that this was the ORIGINAL recipe and tasted exactly as they remembered it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Lehi, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
this was easy to make and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
Very easy to make..And very delish!! I used canned apple pie, and blackberry pie filling and, I watched them fly off the plate! Very elegant and very tastey! Thank you for posting this recipe! We LOVE it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
This was so tasty! I made my own peach preserve for the filling. The only thing was it only made 2 kringles. The first one didn't come out so pretty or professional looking and had peach filling oozing out every which way... but it was soooo good! So for the next one I fixed the design flaws and crisscross it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GODSGIRL
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
This recipe gets 5 stars for tasting good and 5 stars for fun making it. One tip is to use a pizza cutter to make the cuts. It keeps the dough from tearing. Another good tip is to pay attention when the recipe says "heavily floured surface". You will have a lot of trouble with the dough if you are too cheap with the flour. I was able to make 3 just fine but its so much easier to work with when its cold so you have to roll fast. I made one with apricot preserves and cream cheese, cooked apples and cream cheese, and vanilla custard with chocolate drizzle. All three were delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GODSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waldorf, Maryland, USA
Living In: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chickens
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
This dough is as close as you'll get to puff pastry/danish dough without all the work that goes into those. It really does need the full 8hrs, i tried to work with it at 7 1/2 and it was still gooey. I made one with nuts(pecans), and one with cream cheese(sweetened) and blackberry jam. The blackberry jam one leaked alot. It can't handle alot of moisture. Next time i want to use apple pie filling, but i'll definitely fish out the apple chunks w/ a fork so there isn't too much saucy-ness to leak out. I also folded it more like a burrito, then made slits on top w/ a knife.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
My goodness! I can't believe that I haven't rated this recipe yet! This is EXCELLENT, FANTASTIC, SUPERB, SO EASY, and best of all FOOL PROOF! I make this with canned (or fresh) pie filling. I roll the ends and back edge to keep the filling in and only make strips with one side, criss-crossing them as I go. It is so close to puff pastry but without all the turns and work. What more can I say except, DELICIOUS! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
Incredibly outrageously sweet! I think next time I will try it with the cherry or apple filling instead of the brown sugar filling because it creates a syrupy buttery soup around the kringles and it's quite messy and impossible to contain inside the dough (unless maybe you use a lot less of the filling than it asks for). Great with a glass of cold milk to keep the sweetness down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOLLYJOLLY
Home Town: Bluewater, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Photo by jessitlv
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
I don't know what a kringle is but this was a delicous danish. The dough was easy to work with and I had no problems with the filling leaking. I doubled the recipe and got 3 large pieces. I used apple and cherry pie filling. The finished product was beautiful and looked a like a lot more work then it actually was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fallston, Maryland, USA
Living In: Sunland Park, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

BBQ Pork-Stuffed Corn Muffins

Watch how to make baked corn muffins stuffed with leftover BBQ pork.

E-Z Drop Biscuits

See how to make quick-and-easy drop biscuits from scratch.

Sugar Glazed Pecans

Learn how to make this quick and easy, sweet and savory snack.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States