Danish Kringle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
Very yummy and fairly easy. Looks like it came from a fancy bakery. I made the exact recipe and the filling did seep everywhere even when I left plenty of space. I think it might be the amount of butter in the filling. I'm going to try a different filling next time. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quincy, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
So easy to make, and better than any store-bought I have ever had! For one, I made an apricot filling. None of the filling leaked out. For the other I just spread apple jelly down the middle. The apple jelly one seeped all over when I baked it, but it still tasted great! Everyone raved, will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
What can I possibly say other than WOW?! This was absolutely amazing! Tasted exactly like the Kringle I used to get the bakery next to my grandmother's house in Texas! I too, like several other reviewers, wasn't able to get 3 kringles out of the dough, only two, which is fine by me. I used a peach pie filling in both of mine, but cut out more than half of the syrup and added small chunks of cream cheese and they turned out AMAZING. My younger brother, who never really eats any kind of pastries or anything sweet, ate half of one within five minutes of them coming out of the oven. I really wish I could try it with the intended filling, but my boyfriend is allergic to nuts and I don't want to risk even having them in the house. But seriously, this is an amazing recipe! Thank you so much for sharing! Definately will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakingNerd

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harker Heights, Texas, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2009
My expectations were too high. Don't get me wrong, it's good ... but it's basically pie in a different shape. We wanted an apple version so I cored, peeled and sliced 4 Granny Smith apples, tossed in a little butter, cinnamon and brown sugar and cooked until the apples were tender. If you do this you MUST wait until the apples have cooled before putting on the pastry or you'll get a gooey mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
Family agreed that this was the ORIGINAL recipe and tasted exactly as they remembered it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Lehi, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
this was easy to make and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
Very easy to make..And very delish!! I used canned apple pie, and blackberry pie filling and, I watched them fly off the plate! Very elegant and very tastey! Thank you for posting this recipe! We LOVE it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
This was so tasty! I made my own peach preserve for the filling. The only thing was it only made 2 kringles. The first one didn't come out so pretty or professional looking and had peach filling oozing out every which way... but it was soooo good! So for the next one I fixed the design flaws and crisscross it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GODSGIRL
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
This recipe gets 5 stars for tasting good and 5 stars for fun making it. One tip is to use a pizza cutter to make the cuts. It keeps the dough from tearing. Another good tip is to pay attention when the recipe says "heavily floured surface". You will have a lot of trouble with the dough if you are too cheap with the flour. I was able to make 3 just fine but its so much easier to work with when its cold so you have to roll fast. I made one with apricot preserves and cream cheese, cooked apples and cream cheese, and vanilla custard with chocolate drizzle. All three were delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GODSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waldorf, Maryland, USA
Living In: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chickens
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
This dough is as close as you'll get to puff pastry/danish dough without all the work that goes into those. It really does need the full 8hrs, i tried to work with it at 7 1/2 and it was still gooey. I made one with nuts(pecans), and one with cream cheese(sweetened) and blackberry jam. The blackberry jam one leaked alot. It can't handle alot of moisture. Next time i want to use apple pie filling, but i'll definitely fish out the apple chunks w/ a fork so there isn't too much saucy-ness to leak out. I also folded it more like a burrito, then made slits on top w/ a knife.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

BBQ Pork-Stuffed Corn Muffins

Watch how to make baked corn muffins stuffed with leftover BBQ pork.

E-Z Drop Biscuits

See how to make quick-and-easy drop biscuits from scratch.

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States