Danish Kringle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 18, 2013
This kringle is amazing. I have made with both homemade raspberry jam & the nut mixture. We loved both. I used parchment paper for rolling and it worked well. I also baked it on the parchment paper for easy clean up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Very good stuff! I made three kinds: the original recipe, one with raspberry filling atop a cream cheese mixture (with powdered sugar and 1/8 tsp. of almond extract), as well as one with just strawberry filling. I doubled the recipe to make double of each of these flavors [the raspberry one was also topped in slivered almonds], and I shaped two raspberry danishes into a giant wreath by using a round pizza pan to bake them. All but the strawberry ones look lovely, because the strawberry ran like crazy but tasted delicious anyway. The pastry reminds me of kolachies, although not so sweet since they are rolled out in flour instead of powdered sugar. The dough would also probably be a pretty easy pie crust to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
This is delicious! I've been wanting to make this for a long time. After a messy first round and following other reviews, this is what I did. Using food processor, pulsed the butter & flour together until it looked like crumbs. Than I added in sour cream plus 2 tsp almond extract. Chilled dough overnight. Rolled dough (made 3 braids) out onto floured parchment. Rolled it thin. Used pizza cutter to make slits, just short ones. When braiding, the slits are only on top and the sides are solid, so the filling does not ooze out. Brushed with egg white and sprinkled Swedish pearl sugar on top (in place of icing glaze), then bake. Used canned pie fillings, apricot, cherry, black raspberry. One can fills 2 braids. Family loved this, making a bunch for xmas and freezing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
Ever since I moved away from my hometown in Wisconsin, I've been just dying for a taste of proper Kringle and this recipe delivered everything I've been hankering after. I made this on a lark to surprise Hubby for breakfast a few days ago and it was just fantastic! The Kringle was delish fresh out of the oven, but even better hours after it cooled. The crust fell apart on me a bit before I tossed it in the oven, but turned out flakey and superb anyway (be sure to cut your butter in VERY well! I got lazy!) and during the baking process I fretted a bit about how messy it looked with filling seeping out everywhere but OMG, I so didn't have to worry! The only thing I think I'll change next time is adding a teensy bit of vanilla and sugar to the pastry mixture before tossing it in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tane4ka77
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
oh my god, it's wonderful danish, so easy to make , tasty , and good looking , i put cream cheese with brown sugar and its was really good too, thanks a lot for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tane4ka77

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
It took a few tries to get the braiding just right, but once I did, wow. What an impressive-looking and -tasting treat. Definitely heed the advice about using a HEAVILY floured surface, and to have the sough yield enough for three kringles, roll it very thin. Thanks for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Scotia, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
Very good. I didn't make the filling, I used cream cheese filling instead. Everyone loved it. I didn't find it difficult to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Wonderful! a very easy dought to work with but I would half the filling. I sometimes use pie filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
Amazing!!! Dough was awesome! I didn't use the brown sugar filling and omitted nuts, I used "cheese filling" found on this site. Turned out delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
This was excellent! I have to admit I was a little scared with all the cuts and the braid like fashion- but it was really easy! I made two kringles out of the dough instead of three. Some of my filling seeped out, but it was fine! I put small dollops of almond paste with the filling and it was awesome. My husband is addicted to kringles and the nearest bakery that makes them is an hour away and the catalog order kringles always taste freezer burn to me- so this was a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

BBQ Pork-Stuffed Corn Muffins

Watch how to make baked corn muffins stuffed with leftover BBQ pork.

E-Z Drop Biscuits

See how to make quick-and-easy drop biscuits from scratch.

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States