Danish Kringle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by GODSGIRL
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
This recipe gets 5 stars for tasting good and 5 stars for fun making it. One tip is to use a pizza cutter to make the cuts. It keeps the dough from tearing. Another good tip is to pay attention when the recipe says "heavily floured surface". You will have a lot of trouble with the dough if you are too cheap with the flour. I was able to make 3 just fine but its so much easier to work with when its cold so you have to roll fast. I made one with apricot preserves and cream cheese, cooked apples and cream cheese, and vanilla custard with chocolate drizzle. All three were delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GODSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waldorf, Maryland, USA
Living In: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chickens
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
This dough is as close as you'll get to puff pastry/danish dough without all the work that goes into those. It really does need the full 8hrs, i tried to work with it at 7 1/2 and it was still gooey. I made one with nuts(pecans), and one with cream cheese(sweetened) and blackberry jam. The blackberry jam one leaked alot. It can't handle alot of moisture. Next time i want to use apple pie filling, but i'll definitely fish out the apple chunks w/ a fork so there isn't too much saucy-ness to leak out. I also folded it more like a burrito, then made slits on top w/ a knife.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
My goodness! I can't believe that I haven't rated this recipe yet! This is EXCELLENT, FANTASTIC, SUPERB, SO EASY, and best of all FOOL PROOF! I make this with canned (or fresh) pie filling. I roll the ends and back edge to keep the filling in and only make strips with one side, criss-crossing them as I go. It is so close to puff pastry but without all the turns and work. What more can I say except, DELICIOUS! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
Incredibly outrageously sweet! I think next time I will try it with the cherry or apple filling instead of the brown sugar filling because it creates a syrupy buttery soup around the kringles and it's quite messy and impossible to contain inside the dough (unless maybe you use a lot less of the filling than it asks for). Great with a glass of cold milk to keep the sweetness down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOLLYJOLLY
Home Town: Bluewater, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Photo by jessitlv
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
I don't know what a kringle is but this was a delicous danish. The dough was easy to work with and I had no problems with the filling leaking. I doubled the recipe and got 3 large pieces. I used apple and cherry pie filling. The finished product was beautiful and looked a like a lot more work then it actually was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fallston, Maryland, USA
Living In: Sunland Park, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
I have the students in my culinary school make this recipe all the time. We usually sell this for a fundraiser during the holidays and it is always a big hit! It is a simple reicpe and we always get three pieces out of it. I have found that it is hard to tranfer to the pan so we use 2 large spatulas at either end and this keeps us from having too many casualties! Hope you enjoy it, Chef Dave
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2007
It tasted good, but my husband said it reminded him more of a strudel than a kringle. Had enough dough to make 2: a walnut and one with apple pie filling. The walnut reminded me of baclava and we enjoyed the apple pie filling more, both were a sweet treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
Soooo good. I initially rolled in (a lot) of flour right on my counter, but could not have possibly moved it to my baking sheet, so I rolled it (and then baked it) right on my silicone baking mat. I only had a little cherry filling leak, but there was no burning, again thanks to the siclione. Drizzled with cream cheese frosting and this was the first to go at our ladies brunch! Can't wait to make again tomorrow for my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
OMG, if you have never tried kringle, you HAVE to make this recipe. My family and my work friends went absolutely crazy for it and are still talking about it to anyone who will listen. The dough is super simple to make and work with. It is so flaky, but dense and moist, and not too sweet, it's perfect! What I did was to divide the dough in half and put cherry pie filling in one half and half of the brown sugar/butter/nuts recipe in the other. The only change I would make is that the brown sugar/butter/nuts one had WAY too much butter. I used 1 stick (1/2 cup) and it leaked out everywhere and I ended up pouring at least a 1/4 cup of melted butter off of the pan because the kringle was swimming in it. Gross. When I made it again, I just dotted penny sized butter pieces sparsely over the brown sugar/nuts mixture as it lay in the dough and it worked fine, no problems. So definitely cut the butter down. I also made one where I microwaved frozen peach slices until soft, then mashed them with a potato masher with a little sugar and used that as filling. It was wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wendy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
I made this for Easter dessert and it came out great and none was left for me to take home! All I did was make the dough as directed, divided it in 2, filled each with a 1/2 can cherry pie filling and baked as directed. I'm from Wisconsin and this is very close to the Kringle I remember. It was so easy that I will definitely make in the future! I didn't have too much trouble with it dripping onto the pan. It was fine. Thanks for this tasty recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stevens Point, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

BBQ Pork-Stuffed Corn Muffins

Watch how to make baked corn muffins stuffed with leftover BBQ pork.

E-Z Drop Biscuits

See how to make quick-and-easy drop biscuits from scratch.

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States