Danish Kringle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
I made this for the first time this Christmas (for brunch) because my husband's family is from Wisconsin (near Racine, where Kringle is very popular). My husband was leery of me trying this recipe for the FIRST time on such a big holiday, but I gave it a shot, and it turned out wonderful, a very flaky pastry. I used almond paste (instead of the walnut filling in the recipe) to keep it easy, as well as cherry pie filling (I doubled the recipe, with so many people in the house). I had made a braid before, though, so I knew how to make the pattern, my sister-in-law and mother-in-law asked for the recipe, said they'll definitely be making this for special occasions as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Traer, Iowa, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
This was amazing! I made a cream cheese mixture of 8 oz cream cheese 1/2 cup sugar and an egg. I made one with the mixture and jell, the second cream cheese mixture, strawberry jell, and chocolate, the third cream cheese, chocolate, caramel and chopped pecans. Simply amazing. Have fun with the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ChefScharny
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
A great kringle.... I am excited to try different fillings with it but the walnut brown sugar one was definately really good.... the flacky crust really makes this recipe great... I made 1/3 of the recipe to just make one kringle... turned out well.. the dough works well when it is cold... next time I will try rolling it out on floured parchment paper for easier transfer to the baking sheet... also make sure the cuts aren't too long or you will lose the filling... follow these pointers and you will get a GREAT Kringle
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Zachary McKinley
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
The Kringle turned out get for the first time making it, It did have a little over flow but that was just a learning experience. instead of the brown sugar filling I used raspberry preserves and instead of using water with the powdered sugar I used milk. Deffinately looking forward to trying different filling combinations
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zachary McKinley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BOORD
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
For taste alone, i would give this 5 stars. I used my food processor for the dough,(very cold butter cut into cubes and flour pulse until it looks like coarse crumbs, then add sour cream & pulse just til it pulls together)My filling leaked out the sides too. I think in the braiding you need to fold up some of the bottom to make a side. I will make this again and maybe just fold over the top and make a traditional oval for my mom who is from Wisconsin, I know she will love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
I made this into individual danishes and filled half of them with a cream cheese filling and the other half with homemade strawberry pie filling. They are amazing! The recipe made 8 large and 4 small danish rounds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
great flaky crust, I filled with Saskatoon pie filling and they turned out very tasty. I would like to try to make disks next time, bake then fill after the dough is cooked. I think the pastry would be firmer and the outside edges were the favourite with the family so circles would provide more pastry crunch. Great recipe thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MSelvidio
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
Super delicious! After trying a few fillings, I've decided that I like fruit preserves the best. Putting a bit of vanilla extract into the glaze also gives it extra flavor. I very easily got three kringles out of this recipe. Also, I used the dough recipe for pot pie crusts - Yum! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSelvidio

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
This is a really great recipie.. i impressed my self and my family with this :) It looked sooo goood. I made one with a cherry filling that was to die for and one with ham,cheese, and asparagus .. it might sound weird but it was a hit everybody loved it .. ofcourse i didnt put the glaze on the ham one :) .. Thanks for this recipie I will definately be making this again :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
Turned out great! Followed all the directions and a couple reviews with no problem. Cooled dough for full 8 hours. I halved the recipe and was still able to make 2 danish, probably enough to feed 4. Made a blueberry filling by boiling blueberries, water and sugar and one with cream cheese, brown sugar and cinnamon. Definitely a keeper! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

BBQ Pork-Stuffed Corn Muffins

Watch how to make baked corn muffins stuffed with leftover BBQ pork.

E-Z Drop Biscuits

See how to make quick-and-easy drop biscuits from scratch.

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States