Danish Kringle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Rose C.
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
very easy to follow and turned out very good, I made one cherry and one apple thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rose C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
Very good. Originally gave it 5 stars but as I went back I couldn't get over the fact that the dough needed something. Don't get me wrong it was good just missing something. Not sure if it needed sugar, vanilla extract. Just needed something. First day I just made one of the three danishes. Did it with walnuts:Used 2 TBS softened butter, 1/3 cup brown sugar, and about 1/2 cup walnuts (sorry didn't measure the nuts just eyed it). Also added a few sprinkles of cinammon. Next day I did one with almond paste and one with cream cheese. Both fillings were very good and dough was good but still missing something. Fresh out of the oven tastes best. Next day looses it's crispness. Will make again and play wiht the dough as it was very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetsuzie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
i gave it two stars because i like the taste or else it would have been one star. this danish tasted good only because i added vanilla and sugar. i didnt like the dough, it became hard after baking it. it is not a danish dough to me. some parts in it was still mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
Always well received. Flakey and light, like a bakery danish. Reminds me a bit of puff pastry. Not at all difficult to make. I make small ones and make them different flavors. This morning I made the full recipe and made it into 8 small pastries. They are still warm from the oven and the house smells delicious. When the family wakes up, they will disappear instantly. Make sure the dough is chilled and keep the counter lightly floured and you will not have a problem. I make the dough the day before and then it is ready for fresh pastries and a great smelling house in the morning. I have rolled out the dough and cut into rectangles and frozen it to use at a later date. Works great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Roscoe, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
First of all I cut the recipe in half, and second I only kept it in the frig for abt 2 hours. OMG! the dough became so not manageable. I am lucky to have placed it on a marble board when it happened. I put it back in the frig for another hour. I was then able to scrape it up with a spatula. Lesson learned. It still came out wonderful! The glaze, in my opinion, makes or breaks it. Also, the next time I make it, I am going to place the marble board in the frig as well for a couple hours to chill. It saved my kringle this time! (Also, since I'm so impatient, I can roll out the dough in less time again :-) ) I was able to make 2 different kringles when I made only half the recipe. It is a lot of fun, take the chance and make some. I made cream cheese for the filling since my hubby is a diabetic, didnt want to shock him.....yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KITTYKATTz

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
So good! I made one kringle today, and it's already gone. I didn't have any sour cream for the dough, so I substituted a mixture of vanilla yogurt and baking soda (1 cup yogurt, 1 tsp baking soda) and it worked just fine. I would say to use your judgment on the filling. I added brown sugar until I was satisfied, and only used a tiny bit of butter, and still had some leak out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
This was absolutely delicious! My family obsesses over kringle so we were all really excited to try this. We were not disappointed. I decreased the butter a little per other reviews and it came out perfect! Surprisingly not difficult to make. You just need to plan ahead since the dough needs to refrigerate overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
I made this recipe as written. It is fabulous. The crust is sooo flakey. I also made it with cherry filling. I gave some away for xmas and everyone loved it. This recipe is a keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
I made this for the first time this Christmas (for brunch) because my husband's family is from Wisconsin (near Racine, where Kringle is very popular). My husband was leery of me trying this recipe for the FIRST time on such a big holiday, but I gave it a shot, and it turned out wonderful, a very flaky pastry. I used almond paste (instead of the walnut filling in the recipe) to keep it easy, as well as cherry pie filling (I doubled the recipe, with so many people in the house). I had made a braid before, though, so I knew how to make the pattern, my sister-in-law and mother-in-law asked for the recipe, said they'll definitely be making this for special occasions as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Traer, Iowa, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
This was amazing! I made a cream cheese mixture of 8 oz cream cheese 1/2 cup sugar and an egg. I made one with the mixture and jell, the second cream cheese mixture, strawberry jell, and chocolate, the third cream cheese, chocolate, caramel and chopped pecans. Simply amazing. Have fun with the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

BBQ Pork-Stuffed Corn Muffins

Watch how to make baked corn muffins stuffed with leftover BBQ pork.

E-Z Drop Biscuits

See how to make quick-and-easy drop biscuits from scratch.

Sugar Glazed Pecans

Learn how to make this quick and easy, sweet and savory snack.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States