Danish Kringle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
I'm sure it tastes wonderful- but the recipe as is almost burned m house down- way too much butter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Danette Rexford
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
We are huge fans of O & H Kringles and instead of ordering online, mom and I spend a large amount of time researching and this recipe is it! Except if you are doing fruit or pie filling, don't use all that butter with the brown sugar! I added a couple of little dots of butter on an apple one with lightly cinnamon and brown sugar. But certainly not another cup! Made a cream cheese filling of cream cheese, 2 egg yokes and vanilla and sweetened with Spenda...Super good with Blueberry and or raspberry....even great with JUST cheese filling! 5 stars! Will be our new holiday tradition! The dough is incredible if prepared to recipe. Thanks so much for this great recipe! A lot of work but so yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danette Rexford

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
This pastry recipe worked out really well. It was easy to work with, and so crisp and flakey once baked. Delicious! I used a different filling and divided the dough in half to make two pastries. Thanks for sharing this, I will definately make this again. So easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
Use less butter. I made 2 with brown sugar and walnuts and one with cherry pie filling and cream cheese with almond flavored drizzle. Served at Easter brunch and everyone liked them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cawael

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Byron, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I made this the way the recipe said and it was amazing!!!! My husband is a Nutella nut so I filled one with that and lets just say he really appreciated it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mixit
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
Have to admit I put cherry pie filling in this, but even then the pastry deserves 5 stars alone. I had so much fun making it. Next time I will try the called-for filling, I'm sure that would be wonderful and probably about a dozen other fillings would be too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
This recipe is a big hit with my family, though I haven't tried it with the nut filling. I usually make it with apples or raspberry with a cheese filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
I made this recipe for Christmas Eve and dessert on Christmas Day - family and friends took slices home for the next day's breakfast. Just fabulous and easy. You can fill it with anything you want and the taste is always different. Also, it freezes very well for two months or so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minden, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
This kringle is amazing. I have made with both homemade raspberry jam & the nut mixture. We loved both. I used parchment paper for rolling and it worked well. I also baked it on the parchment paper for easy clean up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Very good stuff! I made three kinds: the original recipe, one with raspberry filling atop a cream cheese mixture (with powdered sugar and 1/8 tsp. of almond extract), as well as one with just strawberry filling. I doubled the recipe to make double of each of these flavors [the raspberry one was also topped in slivered almonds], and I shaped two raspberry danishes into a giant wreath by using a round pizza pan to bake them. All but the strawberry ones look lovely, because the strawberry ran like crazy but tasted delicious anyway. The pastry reminds me of kolachies, although not so sweet since they are rolled out in flour instead of powdered sugar. The dough would also probably be a pretty easy pie crust to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

BBQ Pork-Stuffed Corn Muffins

Watch how to make baked corn muffins stuffed with leftover BBQ pork.

E-Z Drop Biscuits

See how to make quick-and-easy drop biscuits from scratch.

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States