Danish Cinnamon Snails Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
The coffee shop in my town sells cinnamon rolls with cardamom, and I am obsessed! My grandma has made cardamom cookies at Christmas my whole life, and I love that flavor. I wanted to try these for so long, and they are amazing. Next time I will double the filling and bake them in round pans instead of on cookie sheets so they don't flatten out too much and all the gooey yumminess stays in the pan. I drizzled a glaze of orange juice and powdered sugar over the top. Delicious. My daughter had fun using a thread to cut the rolls. These are definitely going to be one of our house specialties. I used just one package of regular yeast and they turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cristy Schaeffer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
I couldn't find cake yeast so I subbed with 2 1/4 tsp of dry active yeast and used fresh made butter because I ran out. Next time I will keep a better eye when baking. They turned out a little more brown than golden. Topped some with Orange Icing (2T milk, 2T OJ, zest of 1 orange, and powdered sugar) as another reviewer recommended. Great taste and the cardamom was a nice twist. Will probably use this more often since the rising times are not as long and the snails puff just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Photo by Owlett
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
Delicious! Turned out delightfully fluffy. Creamed the liquid ingredients, including the butter, before adding flour. Used two packets of instant yeast in place of cake yeast (cake is near impossible to find)and let that sit for about 15 minutes before adding to liquid ingredients. End result was a tender, fluffy crumb and delicate flavor. Oh! Also I doubled the filling, worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
I thought it would taste like a typical cinnamon roll but it wasn't very sweet and didn't have much cinnamon flavor either. The bread also was a little dense although I did like the cardamom. I thought something with 2 sticks of butter in it would taste a little richer...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
I loved the simplicity of these rolls. I added 1/4 tsp ground clove and 1/4 tsp nutmeg and orange essence dried cranberries to the filling. When the rolls were baked I made a simple milk and powdered sugar glaze to drizzle over the tops. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Easy to make and yummy! I just rolled the dough thinly into one big rectangle and cut it into 16 slices. I baked them as pull-aparts in 2 round cake pans and turned the oven down to 400 so they didn't brown too fast. Drizzled some frosting on while still warm and they were delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Yummy! Made just as the recipe states. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenacres, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
Mine didn't come out quite so pretty, since I had a bit of trouble layering the two sheets of dough. Perhaps next time I'll simply roll them each on their own to get prettier results. The taste was great! It was fun making them, and they made the kitchen smell divine. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by invierno_eterno

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
This recipe is a keeper. The cardamom is there but subtle; there's not an overwhelming sweetness but a great balance of sweet combined with the softness of the breading/dough. Using cake yeast is a bit expensive (first time I've purchased it) but well worth it; it makes the dough's texture distinct when biting into it. I've never bought a cinnamon roll/snail this good. Really.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
Instead of making rolls for this recipe, I decided to save a little time by rolling out the dough, adding the filling inside, and then braiding the bread by cutting the sides of the dough a third of the way in on each side and alternately folding each side to the middle. I also drizzled an orange glaze over the top of the bread after it was done baking: 2 Tbls 1/2 & 1/2, 2 Tbls orange juice, zest from 1 orange, and powdered sugar until desired consistency. The result is a blend of cardamom and orange heaven and a beautifully browned loaf that is sure to impress.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make simple cinnamon rolls using your bread machine.

Ninety-Minute Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make quick-and-easy homemade cinnamon rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States