Danish Christmas Red Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
i have read the other reviews and as i am also danish i would suggest using 1 jar of red current jelly instead of the sugar,1/2 cup vinigar only a little water and simmer for about 2 hours stirring every so often, this is the way my mother made it for the last 50 years and it always turns out, it freezes really well as well, so you can make a double batch and take it out when needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
144 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2005
My German mother makes this red cabbage. It has a wonderful sweet/sour flavor. She adds just a tiny dab of bacon drippings to it before serving and it is one of my absolute favorite side dishes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2005
This was a really good recipe for red cabbage. I cut the ingedients in half. Quick and easy to make. Kept a bright red color. A real winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oakland, California, USA
Living In: Dayton, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
This recipe was just wonderful. I made it exactly as written and thought it just a bit too sour. I did reduce the vinegar and sugar just a bit. It is wonderful along side of the Sweet and Sour Pork Patties recipe. I served the Sweet and Sour Pork Patties, Danish Christmas Red Cabbage and mashed potatoes for a after Christmas dinner. It was a huge hit. Also, this recipe cans very easily. I pack mine hot into clean pint jars leaving about 1/4 inch head space (make sure to put in lots of liquid, too) I process them in a hot water bath for about 12 mins. Remove jars and let them sit until you hear the lids pop. Last over a year this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TXBuxaroni

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Fremont, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
I just made this for T-giving and test tasted it... Mmmmmm very good! I was surprised by the amt of sugar called for, so I substituted Equal's Sugar Lite for 1/2 c. and then 1 1/2 c. sugar. That seemed to be fine. I also ran out of white vinegar & ended up using red wine vinegar for 1 1/2 cups of the vinegar called for. That worked great too! I diced up one apple and added that while cooking. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodstock, Illinois, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
This was excellent! We didnt change a thing, and the whole family ate it all, even the kids. This is definetly a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2006
I shredded this cabbage lenghtwise and fine, and found it to be too sweet. Also, I found when dishing it out into a serving bowl, the vinegar took my breath away. I will make it again, but will significantly reduce the amount of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRUDY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
I have made this for years, as mentioned, excellent w/any plain meat, pork, roast, poultry, etc. You can adjust by keeping the proportion of sugar/vinegar. I always use cider vinegar and add some cloves. First came across the recipe as a german dish to serve w/Saurbraten. I like it better than the thick sauced ones you see in some restaurants. The flavor is bolder!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
My husband and I just enjoyed this recipe soooo much, didn't change a thing! I will be making this again, what a treat. Just wondering when it says to shred the cabbage, like coleslaw? I just cut it up in thin slices, would appreciate hearing from others as to what you do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
this recipie is exactly like my mothers except she added a jar of red current jelly.. it made such a rich red colour to it.... and sooo tasty... my aunt use to add applesause.... DONT!!!! .... lol...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Chef John’s Braised Red Cabbage

See how to make flavorful, quick-and-easy braised red cabbage.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States