Danish Christmas Red Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
I made this as written with the exception of teh cooking time; letting it simmer for 2 hours instead of one. Delicious and easy! I can't wait to eat the leftovers. :^)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Prairie Epicurian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
Awesome! This is exactly what I was lookinf for. I do cut the sugar some as I thought it was too much sugar but this is a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
This was a great recipe!! Really easy, went great with grilled sausages. We added some some cooked bacon when it was done cooking. The only change I would make is use 1 cup of sugar next time. Thanks for a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
made this as a THanksgiving side dish , was good but bland needs some thing more but I haven't thought of what.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
This recipe was a treat, especially for the kids. There has never been a better way to get kids to eat their cabbage. I did not use as much sugar as the recipe called far, just 1/2 cup of Splenda, and while the cabbage is still warm added a 1-2 teaspoons of red currant jelly to each serving. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNCUCU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockledge, Florida, USA
Living In: Saint Marys, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
I absolutely love this recipie for any day when I feel like using up some of that uneaten lettuce in the house. However, does it matter what color the cabbage is? I am growing my own garden, and have used a few green cabbage heads, znd the recipie tasted the same. I am unaware of any difference in taste between cabbages.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
This recipe was just wonderful. I made it exactly as written and thought it just a bit too sour. I did reduce the vinegar and sugar just a bit. It is wonderful along side of the Sweet and Sour Pork Patties recipe. I served the Sweet and Sour Pork Patties, Danish Christmas Red Cabbage and mashed potatoes for a after Christmas dinner. It was a huge hit. Also, this recipe cans very easily. I pack mine hot into clean pint jars leaving about 1/4 inch head space (make sure to put in lots of liquid, too) I process them in a hot water bath for about 12 mins. Remove jars and let them sit until you hear the lids pop. Last over a year this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TXBuxaroni

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Fremont, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
I am eating this while I am typing...It is soooo good! I did change/add just a couple of things: used Splenda for half of the sugar called for; used half white vinegar half apple cider vinegar; added a bay leaf, two whole cloves and a small onion. Hit the spot, I tell ya!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RHIANNON1313

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
Very good, quite tangy and fairly sweet, you taste the vinegar much more than the sugar. Quite a similar flavour to a tangy, non-creamy coleslaw that many Americans will have encountered. If you want something sweet do try the jam or other reviewers' suggestions, however made as per recipe it is exactly what I expected and would make a good side dish either as a veggie (serve with sour cream) or in place of cranberry sauce. I imagine it keeps well, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alarose

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
I have made this for years, as mentioned, excellent w/any plain meat, pork, roast, poultry, etc. You can adjust by keeping the proportion of sugar/vinegar. I always use cider vinegar and add some cloves. First came across the recipe as a german dish to serve w/Saurbraten. I like it better than the thick sauced ones you see in some restaurants. The flavor is bolder!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Chef John’s Braised Red Cabbage

See how to make flavorful, quick-and-easy braised red cabbage.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States