Danish Christmas Red Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
I made this as written with the exception of teh cooking time; letting it simmer for 2 hours instead of one. Delicious and easy! I can't wait to eat the leftovers. :^)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Prairie Epicurian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
Awesome! This is exactly what I was lookinf for. I do cut the sugar some as I thought it was too much sugar but this is a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
This was a great recipe!! Really easy, went great with grilled sausages. We added some some cooked bacon when it was done cooking. The only change I would make is use 1 cup of sugar next time. Thanks for a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
made this as a THanksgiving side dish , was good but bland needs some thing more but I haven't thought of what.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
This recipe was a treat, especially for the kids. There has never been a better way to get kids to eat their cabbage. I did not use as much sugar as the recipe called far, just 1/2 cup of Splenda, and while the cabbage is still warm added a 1-2 teaspoons of red currant jelly to each serving. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNCUCU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockledge, Florida, USA
Living In: Saint Marys, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
I absolutely love this recipie for any day when I feel like using up some of that uneaten lettuce in the house. However, does it matter what color the cabbage is? I am growing my own garden, and have used a few green cabbage heads, znd the recipie tasted the same. I am unaware of any difference in taste between cabbages.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
This recipe was just wonderful. I made it exactly as written and thought it just a bit too sour. I did reduce the vinegar and sugar just a bit. It is wonderful along side of the Sweet and Sour Pork Patties recipe. I served the Sweet and Sour Pork Patties, Danish Christmas Red Cabbage and mashed potatoes for a after Christmas dinner. It was a huge hit. Also, this recipe cans very easily. I pack mine hot into clean pint jars leaving about 1/4 inch head space (make sure to put in lots of liquid, too) I process them in a hot water bath for about 12 mins. Remove jars and let them sit until you hear the lids pop. Last over a year this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TXBuxaroni

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Fremont, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
I am eating this while I am typing...It is soooo good! I did change/add just a couple of things: used Splenda for half of the sugar called for; used half white vinegar half apple cider vinegar; added a bay leaf, two whole cloves and a small onion. Hit the spot, I tell ya!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RHIANNON1313

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
Very good, quite tangy and fairly sweet, you taste the vinegar much more than the sugar. Quite a similar flavour to a tangy, non-creamy coleslaw that many Americans will have encountered. If you want something sweet do try the jam or other reviewers' suggestions, however made as per recipe it is exactly what I expected and would make a good side dish either as a veggie (serve with sour cream) or in place of cranberry sauce. I imagine it keeps well, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alarose

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
I have made this for years, as mentioned, excellent w/any plain meat, pork, roast, poultry, etc. You can adjust by keeping the proportion of sugar/vinegar. I always use cider vinegar and add some cloves. First came across the recipe as a german dish to serve w/Saurbraten. I like it better than the thick sauced ones you see in some restaurants. The flavor is bolder!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Chef John’s Braised Red Cabbage

See how to make flavorful, quick-and-easy braised red cabbage.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States