Danish Christmas Red Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
I made it exactly according to the recipe - everyone loved it! May have to double next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
This recipe is absolutely delicious!! I made it today as a side for my turkey and I was so impressed. I can not wait to make this for christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
this recipie is exactly like my mothers except she added a jar of red current jelly.. it made such a rich red colour to it.... and sooo tasty... my aunt use to add applesause.... DONT!!!! .... lol...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
My mom is Danish. Growing up, she always bought pickled red cabbage in a jar. When I moved to a different state, I found that I could no longer purchase this mainstay of holiday dinners anywhere in my area. I figured out how to recreate it from scratch (coming up with the recipe that is just like this on my own-- Red cabbage must be in my blood!). Now family members are asking me to make this for them and asking if I can can it. Can this be canned like sauerkraut?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Washington, Maryland, USA
Living In: Milton, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
I loved this, but I did modify it. I used only 3/4 cup of apple cider vinegar and 3/4 cup of honey and probably around 1 1/2 cups of water. I browned two pork chops, seasoned with salt and pepper, and put them on top of the cabbage to stew. It was kind of smelly in the kitchen, but very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Middleburgh, New York, USA
Living In: Moscow, Moscow (Federal City), Russia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
My husband and I just enjoyed this recipe soooo much, didn't change a thing! I will be making this again, what a treat. Just wondering when it says to shred the cabbage, like coleslaw? I just cut it up in thin slices, would appreciate hearing from others as to what you do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
I followed the recipe to the T except that I sliced rather than shredded the cabbage. This cabbage tasted and looked exactly like what my Danish mother-in-law prepared for every special meal. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
This is very similiar to my mother's and grandmother's recipe for Danish red cabbage. The only difference is my grandmother always added some cut-up dried apples when cooking. It doesn't take away any of the flavor but tames the vinegar smell a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
I love this recipe...my mother has been making this for as long as I can remember...Christmas dinner would not be the same without it....Must be the Danish coming out in me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
This was excellent! I am planning to make again it was so good. Half the sugar was used when I made it and that is what I would recommend if you do not like your food too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Chef John’s Braised Red Cabbage

See how to make flavorful, quick-and-easy braised red cabbage.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States