Danish Christmas Red Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2006
Fantastic... something different for company... and just perfect with Pork Dishes....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WINDSOR64
Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Plymouth Meeting, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2005
This was a really good recipe for red cabbage. I cut the ingedients in half. Quick and easy to make. Kept a bright red color. A real winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oakland, California, USA
Living In: Dayton, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2005
My German mother makes this red cabbage. It has a wonderful sweet/sour flavor. She adds just a tiny dab of bacon drippings to it before serving and it is one of my absolute favorite side dishes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
I just made this for T-giving and test tasted it... Mmmmmm very good! I was surprised by the amt of sugar called for, so I substituted Equal's Sugar Lite for 1/2 c. and then 1 1/2 c. sugar. That seemed to be fine. I also ran out of white vinegar & ended up using red wine vinegar for 1 1/2 cups of the vinegar called for. That worked great too! I diced up one apple and added that while cooking. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodstock, Illinois, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
Fabulous...the whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
This was excellent! We didnt change a thing, and the whole family ate it all, even the kids. This is definetly a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
This dish was a hit for Christmas dinner. Visually colorful and a gastronomically pleasing. My family requested that I keep this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2006
I shredded this cabbage lenghtwise and fine, and found it to be too sweet. Also, I found when dishing it out into a serving bowl, the vinegar took my breath away. I will make it again, but will significantly reduce the amount of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRUDY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
"Absolutely Delicious". Made this dish a couple of years ago exactly as indicated. Family and friends love it. A must on our Holiday Menus. Happy Holidays!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
I have made this for years, as mentioned, excellent w/any plain meat, pork, roast, poultry, etc. You can adjust by keeping the proportion of sugar/vinegar. I always use cider vinegar and add some cloves. First came across the recipe as a german dish to serve w/Saurbraten. I like it better than the thick sauced ones you see in some restaurants. The flavor is bolder!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Chef John’s Braised Red Cabbage

See how to make flavorful, quick-and-easy braised red cabbage.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States