Danish Christmas Red Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
"Absolutely Delicious". Made this dish a couple of years ago exactly as indicated. Family and friends love it. A must on our Holiday Menus. Happy Holidays!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
i have read the other reviews and as i am also danish i would suggest using 1 jar of red current jelly instead of the sugar,1/2 cup vinigar only a little water and simmer for about 2 hours stirring every so often, this is the way my mother made it for the last 50 years and it always turns out, it freezes really well as well, so you can make a double batch and take it out when needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
145 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2006
I don't know about this. It was ok, but I guess I'm not a fan of sweet tasting cabbage. While it was cooking, I thought it was too strong smelling so I drained it and continued to boil it with clear water. Wasn't bad tho...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanetCanuck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2006
Fantastic... something different for company... and just perfect with Pork Dishes....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WINDSOR64
Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Plymouth Meeting, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2006
I shredded this cabbage lenghtwise and fine, and found it to be too sweet. Also, I found when dishing it out into a serving bowl, the vinegar took my breath away. I will make it again, but will significantly reduce the amount of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRUDY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
This dish was a hit for Christmas dinner. Visually colorful and a gastronomically pleasing. My family requested that I keep this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
This was excellent! We didnt change a thing, and the whole family ate it all, even the kids. This is definetly a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
Fabulous...the whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
Good Cabbage recipe. I guess I am not a tremendous fan..but others liked it - so I gave it 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mina Farahmandi Lewis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: South Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
I just made this for T-giving and test tasted it... Mmmmmm very good! I was surprised by the amt of sugar called for, so I substituted Equal's Sugar Lite for 1/2 c. and then 1 1/2 c. sugar. That seemed to be fine. I also ran out of white vinegar & ended up using red wine vinegar for 1 1/2 cups of the vinegar called for. That worked great too! I diced up one apple and added that while cooking. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodstock, Illinois, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Chef John’s Braised Red Cabbage

See how to make flavorful, quick-and-easy braised red cabbage.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States