Danish Almond Puff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
My husband would cancel Christmas if we did not have this- His mom made it for him every year- I make it for all kinds of occasions now- I have since made and fed it to others and they serve it now- It looks so complicated but is not! Very impressive. I do not like the almond extract, I sub with vanilla- I use what nuts I have on hand- Walnuts or pecans are our favorite- or if your budget is tight, it tastes amazing without nuts coz chances are you would have all these ingredients in your pantry to make this elegant dessert! (also same as "danish puff" on AR)- My husband would give it 50 stars if he could!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wiser1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
I have made this since 1964. Our neighbor brought over a coffe cake so I could bake it and I burned it. This recipe was the only one I had the ingredients for. The only store in town was closed. They loved this and I have made it several time for them. All four of our children have won blue ribbons for danish puff. Both my sisters and sister in law make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
My mom made this every year for us. I have not been able to find this recipe for years. She never wrote anything down..she did it all by memory. She passed in 1998 so the recipe went with her. Now I can surprise my sister with this for Thanksgiving..Thank-You so much for submitting this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brockton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Newnan, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
Love this recipe - my variation is vanilla extract in the "cream puff" dough. I use a regular butter cream frosting and top with toasted sliced almonds. The almond flavor is there, but not as overwhelming as when you use almond extract in the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
It is the oddest most delicious thing I have made! Was not sure it would turn out but was excellent....disappeared in hours! When I rolled out the bottom it was not even so I rolled up the ends once the filling was on. Cooked evenly even though I did this! May add a brown sugar/butter/almond mix for in between the pastry and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Terrace, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
My Mom, Lena, also made these every Christmas. LOVE them. They are simple and delicious. Sometimes she colored the frosting, for a more festive look, but I like the simple white icing. Thanks for the recipe and thanks MOM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laureli Ivanoff

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
Just like the pastry my Danish grammie used to make when I was a kid! I had made this years ago, but I had forgotten how very very simple and tasty the recipe is. It literally takes about two minutes to put together, then another hour to cook. As another reviewer suggested, I don't bother with the first layer, I just make the top layer. It's a great "throw together" recipe if you need a quick, sweet fingerfood for a hostess or secret santa gift or holiday party. Try serving a piece with raspberry sorbet for an incredibly great-tasting, elegant finish to a meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buxton, Maine, USA
Living In: Porter, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2007
I found this recipe to be much more time consuming than other reviewers noted. I would say it took closer to 45 mins to assemble. Also, while the end result was good, it wasn't great, and something better can easily be made with less work. If I do decide to make this again, I will take the other reviews' advice and put a filling between the layers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2006
This is the same basic recipe my Mom made for us when we were small except she always used maple flavoring instead of the almond. For the icing she would make a butter icing (approx. 2 cups powdered sugar, 1/4 c.butter, 2 tsp. maple flavoring and a dollup milk in the mixer) and add maple flavoring to that, too - spread it on while it is still just warm - then she'd sprinkle chopped english walnuts on top. So good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2006
This deflated when i took it out but i thought it was gross anyways. Take into consideration I am a novice, please.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie Bo Beary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Almond Bear Claws

These magnificent bakery favorites are easy to make in your own kitchen.

Raspberry and Almond Thumbprints

Your favorite thumbprint cookies, jazzed up with delicious glaze.

Baked Brie in Puff Pastry

See how to make a simple but elegant baked cheese appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States