Danish Almond Puff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 19, 2006
Very easy to make with clear instructions! The pastry was delicious, light and not overly sweet. I'd recommend this for a quick breakfast treat or even a dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2006
I have made this for years, but what I do is after its baked and cooled I slice the two pastries in half long ways and fill with instant vanilla pudding prepared as for a pie and add adrop or two of almond extract. Then put top on and frost. It always is a big hit and everyone wants the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2004
Thank you, thank you, thank you, I had this recipe years ago. This is from an old cook book, which I lost while moving. I would often put a thin layer of Solo fruit filling, or almond paste, over the crust, between the two layers. Easy and elegant dessert, great for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2004
My mother used to make this and I have made it myself years ago. It is a great recipe and now that I have been reminded about it, I will make it again, or better yet, coax her into making it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stoney Creek, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2004
This is a very yummy dessert, I've been making it for many years. I did change one thing, to save half the fat...skip the bottom layer. It doesn't really add any flavor, and the top layer is what's really the best part. Here's a tip on spreading that top layer out...use a wet spoon, it really makes the job easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SEWVERYTALL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2004
Wow, I remember this recipe from when I was a kid, too. Just like the other reviewers! It's fun to remake old memories and pass them on to our kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2004
This was the hit of the Christmas morning brunch. I topped off the icing with almonds instead of candy sprinkles. I was afraid that this wouldn't be sweet enough, but it was perfect, and froze beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2005
Wow...did this recipe bring back very fond memories! Although my mom made it for me as a child, I have never made it myself. It was very easy and was quite a hit with my Progressive Dinner group. Make this one and you will have raves at your next brunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Norma M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2005
Did I just make this???!!! Wow! This is delicious! So easy, so fast, and sooo extraordinary! This is like fine pastry shop quality. I can't wait to serve it to my guests this evening. I'm also amazed at the ingredient list...just regular, everyday items that I always have on hand. You must try this! QUICK UPDATE: EVERYONE RAVED OVER THIS! THEY COULDN'T BELIEVE I MADE THIS MYSELF!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DManfredi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
Wife has made this for years. One of the best,(wife and recipe). Only change is 2 cups confectioners' sugar in the glaze. Try this for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Raspberry and Almond Thumbprints

Your favorite thumbprint cookies, jazzed up with delicious glaze.

Baked Brie in Puff Pastry

See how to make a simple but elegant baked cheese appetizer.

Almond and Parsley Salsa Verde

See how to prepare a lively, super-versatile fresh salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States