Danish Almond Puff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2004
I have used this recipe since 1960 I have always used slivered almonds over the frosting, carrying the flavor of the Almond extract that is in the pastry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2004
Thank you, thank you, thank you, I had this recipe years ago. This is from an old cook book, which I lost while moving. I would often put a thin layer of Solo fruit filling, or almond paste, over the crust, between the two layers. Easy and elegant dessert, great for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2004
My mother used to make this and I have made it myself years ago. It is a great recipe and now that I have been reminded about it, I will make it again, or better yet, coax her into making it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stoney Creek, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2004
This is a very yummy dessert, I've been making it for many years. I did change one thing, to save half the fat...skip the bottom layer. It doesn't really add any flavor, and the top layer is what's really the best part. Here's a tip on spreading that top layer out...use a wet spoon, it really makes the job easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SEWVERYTALL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2004
Wow, I remember this recipe from when I was a kid, too. Just like the other reviewers! It's fun to remake old memories and pass them on to our kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2004
This was the hit of the Christmas morning brunch. I topped off the icing with almonds instead of candy sprinkles. I was afraid that this wouldn't be sweet enough, but it was perfect, and froze beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2005
Very good! I was sick and was still able to make this recipe with ease. Everyone who ate it agreed that it is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2005
Wow...did this recipe bring back very fond memories! Although my mom made it for me as a child, I have never made it myself. It was very easy and was quite a hit with my Progressive Dinner group. Make this one and you will have raves at your next brunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Norma LeGeyt Meligonis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2005
I took the advice of an earlier reviewer and spread a thin layer of almond paste between layers and topped with sliced almonds instead of candy sprinkles. I also was so excited to try it, that I didn't wait for it to cool to room temp before frosting, and I am glad, as it was so much better warm than cold. I found it to be a bit bland, and my husband and I thought that maybe a thin layer of lemon filling or even fruit filling might make it a little bit more tasty. Leftovers didn't keep well at all, so I would half the recipe unless you have a crowd!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2005
Did I just make this???!!! Wow! This is delicious! So easy, so fast, and sooo extraordinary! This is like fine pastry shop quality. I can't wait to serve it to my guests this evening. I'm also amazed at the ingredient list...just regular, everyday items that I always have on hand. You must try this! QUICK UPDATE: EVERYONE RAVED OVER THIS! THEY COULDN'T BELIEVE I MADE THIS MYSELF!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DManfredi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Almond Bear Claws

These magnificent bakery favorites are easy to make in your own kitchen.

Raspberry and Almond Thumbprints

Your favorite thumbprint cookies, jazzed up with delicious glaze.

Baked Brie in Puff Pastry

See how to make a simple but elegant baked cheese appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States