Dandelion Wine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
A few notes on what's wrong with this recipe: 1) Double the amount of dandelion flowers. The flowers are best picked at mid-morning to mid-day. When preparing them remove all the green, especially the green stalk which is very bitter. Most of the green sepals should be removed as well, but if a few get through that's fine, they'll add some body. 2) Allow the flowers to steep for 2 days, not 4 minutes. Keep the pot covered during this time. 3) After 2 days strain off the flowers, add the remaining ingredients except the yeast, but as others have noted only use half the sugar. 1-2 lbs (2-4 cups) of sugar will be plenty, depending on how dry or sweet you like your wine. 4) Bring it back to a boil for 10 minutes and then put the liquid into your sterilized primary fermentator. After it has cooled to roughly 30 C or 90 F add the wine yeast (not baker's yeast, although that might do in a pinch) and the fermentation lock. When the bubbling has mostly subsided (10-14 days) remove the liquid from the lees and rack it for 2 months before bottling (unless you like exploding bottles). Like all wines, it's best if it's aged in the bottle for at least a year, although there'll be a noticible improvement after just 6 months.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
I was amazed how simple and quick this wine was to brew. I used 7 cups of sugar, 2 oranges and 2 lemons. I tried adding orange and lemon slices to some jars and left other jars with just wine. I like the ones with a lemon and an orange slice the best. Also after trying different mixes with the finished wine I found mixing wine with an ounce of real cranberry juice and a squirt of lime juice in a wine glass to be the best. The cranberry juice sourness equals out the wines sweetness in a very tasty way. If you have a bunch of dandelions don't think twice about trying this recipe out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
I made this and it came out extremely strong! Like burns your throat as it goes down strong... maybe I did something wrong!?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amux

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
I have not mad any yet,but there is a vacant lot across the street with lots of dandelions. I DO remember a co-worker brought some to work which was made by his landlord;an old Jehovah's Witness woman. It was bright yellow and sweet. Great wine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jashar160

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Marion, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
This was a bit sweet, but I can tame that next time - easy to make too! I'm going to experiment with this next time, I like it alot. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
I think this is a pretty good recipe- mine came out a bit too sweet, it was like Boone's farm plus a cup of sugar! So I would try 6 or 7 cups of sugar next time- otherwise, nice flavor and fizz! I left the fruit in with the wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Fack

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
Wine tastes like a mixture of rubbing alcohol and sugar :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
It was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Spiced Christmas Wine

Treat your winter guests to a hot cup of holiday cheer.

Mussels in a Fennel & White Wine Broth

See how to make mussels cooked in a fennel and white wine broth.

How to Chill Wine Fast

See how to chill a warm bottle of white wine in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States