Dandelion Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2015
When I was in my late teens, I remember my mother used to take a green plastic colander out into the back yard and come back with it full of the dandelion greens. And, with the simple addition of some tomato, cucumber, and onion, she made a top grade salad. She made her own sweet and sour type dressing for it and it was delicious. And so I have tried this recipe. And it is also delicious, and brought back memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David L. Wasson

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buckhannon, West Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2015
I got these greens in an organic produce delivery -- wasn't quite sure how to serve. I used the red onion I had, then fried up some prosciutto to make it crisp and used Marie's Blue Cheese Vinaigrette (available in the refrigerated produced section of your grocery store). Having a dressing that's a little sweet helps balance out the bitterness of the greens and the salty prosciutto added crunch as well as balancing the "salty sweet" taste to the salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina M Engelke

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
I have not tried this recipe, but it sounds delicious. Also, as a reminder, not to be facetious, but those of you who treat your lawns with chemicals, do not use dandelion greens from your lawn. Chemical lawn treatments are toxic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
If you don't pick these right when they spring up out of the ground they will be bitter. You have to pick 'em fresh for the sweet taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
Very bitter greens but was great with a hot bacon dressing, I will offset this next time with adding spinach, fruit, and nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TTV78
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
I love a simple green salad that allows the flavor of the greens to stand out on their own. I love dandelion greens (they're not for everyone!) & simply adding the onions & tomatoes are more than enough to make a delicious salad. The dried basil is a nice touch and a great subtle flavor addition. I enjoyed this with my own simple balsamic vinaigrette dressing recipe & it hit the spot. If you want to help tone down the bitter flavor of the dandelion greens, just soak them in some salted cold water for 5-10 minutes. Then drain & dry before making the salad. Thanks for sharing this recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TTV78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Milpitas, California, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2010
All I can say to those who tried this and found it bitter, is that the greens have to be young, first growing, perhaps before the bud shows...... Great recipe, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
Brought back great memories of my Italian father picking dandelions from the yard! He would saute' in olive oil, garlic, salt and pepper. I thought it was so weird to eat "weeds" but through him I learned to love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary L Johnson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2010
I've tried to eat dandelions over and over again - I kept thinking I must be doing something wrong. I first ate them as a child when my mom would pick them from very young plants and make a salad similar to this but with oil and vinegar dressing. I didn't like it then and I still don't care for it. Darn things are bitter. I know, they're good for you - but you have to eat them to get the benefit of that goodness and I just can't. Sorry. At least I gave it one star - for the memories. My mom kept a basket and a knife in the trunk of the car and would stop and pick dandelions from farmers fields when she was out in the country - she thought they were a big prize! This was back in the middle ages - in the 1950's and 60's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DinnerDiva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Saint Augustine, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2010
This brought back memories of my childhood when Mom and Dad would go to the woods to pick wild greens--nothing better! I still long for that taste. Mom would cook them in some water and add bacon grease. Yummy! I remember dandelion and sour dock being some of the "weeds"they picked. We would also sprinkle our serving with a little vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Pasta Salad

A quick and easy salad with rotini pasta and vegetables.

Healthy Garden Salad

This colorful, healthy salad stars black beans, corn, tomatoes, and edamame.

Tomato Mint Quinoa Salad

This simple quinoa salad is a great change of pace from pasta or rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States