Dandelion Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2003
I guess a prerquisite would be that you would have to like dandelions. Very bitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2005
I grew up eating this salad; I loved it then and I love it now. My mom would get up early in the morning to pick the tender leaves from the backyard. She would then make a sweet warm bacon dressing that did a nice job of offsetting the slight bitter flavor of the greens. Thanks John, good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2007
I had never eaten dandelion greens before, but on the advice of my brother who is an EXcellent cook, I went for it. I jazzed it up quite a bit because I had heard the greens can taste bitter. So I used grape tomato halves, tossed in some sweet fresh diced mango to complement any bitterness, added some toasted pinenuts, crumbled gorgonzola, & did a simple balsamic/olive oil dressing. It was deLICious! Thanks, John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
Thought it was great! Made it just as recomended. But the mangos and pine nuts with gorgonzola sound great! I will try that next time. Never have liked dandelion's before but made sure I picked only the very young tender ones. They were not bitter at all, whole family liked it and could not believe it was dandelions. We will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prince Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by inounvme
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
I really liked this especially with the addition of mango and crumbled blue cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inounvme

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
I too grew up eating this. Ours contained hard boiled egg and bacon with a oil and viniger dressing. It is still a rite of spring for me. For those who did not like the bitter flavor - note the greens must be young. Anything that has a flower bud (even small) - it is too old. Do try this if you never have!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Concord, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
Who eats weeds? Were you raised in a shed? Those were my first thoughts when this I first read. But this bizarre bowl of grass, it turns out, is first class! Fit for a queen in a king-sized bed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brooklynsurecooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Topsfield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2010
Just remember you must harvest the greens before they blossom or the greens will be bitter!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rudy Hawes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rutland, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
Thank you for this very tasty salad. In my country we love dandelions. We mostly boil them lightly and eat them with lemon juice and olive oil as a salad. They go very well with fryed fish or with barbequed meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Magoulianitissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Athens, Attica, Greece
Reviewed: May 21, 2010
This simple recipe is great - I grew up eatting dandelion salad. I slice the onions instead of chopping, and don't add the dried basil. Crumbled feta and a simple dressing of EVOO and balsamic or red wine vinegar go well with this. Tender young greens from your yard or farmer's market are way better than the huge ones sold in stores.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sheffield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Kale Salad

Transform a slightly bitter green into something truly delicious.

Spinach and Strawberry Salad

Mix the colors and flavors of summer and enjoy.

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chiles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States