Dandelion Greens with a Kick Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2015
Still new to eating dandelion greens. Enjoyed this recipe. Put it on top of my mashed potatoes to cut the bitterness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2015
Carmelizing a whole onion really gives this dish the sweetness that the bitter greens need, I think. Wonderful with some cannelini beans on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Sagheb
Living In: Culver City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
Nice & spicy; not at all bitter. Over 2 gallons fresh leaves cooked down to about 2.5 cups. I chopped the leaves with the kitchen scissors after the boiling step to make them a more appealing texture (less stringy). Very much like chopped frozen spinach. The most time-consuming part was separating all the flowers, stems, etc. from the leaves and washing them well. Just cleaned all the weeds out of the vegetable garden and got a free side dish out of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
I had never had dandelion greens before but was curious to try them. Started caramelizing the onions then added the garlic, pepper flakes, salt and pepper. I boiled the greens as directed, then added them to the onion saute. Stirred it all together for a minute or two, then added some crumbled goat cheese (instead of parmesan) and a squeeze of lemon juice before plating. Added sunflower seeds after plating. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
Happened to have some Pasta Prima Spinach and Mozzarella Ravioli from Costco on hand - added the Parmesan and herb seasoning to the greens as well - delicious!! You have to like Dandelion greens and if you do... try this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
loved this! Great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Josephine Roeper
Reviewed: May 31, 2014
I am rating this recipe 4 stars because: 1. The kidlets did not like it at all but I thought it was pretty good considering it's dandelion greens. 2. The kick was a bit too much so next time I would half the red pepper flakes. The only thing I did differently was to slightly caramelize the onions. Served with Summer Squash Chicken Alfredo and Roasted Green Beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 11, 2014
The best!!! My family loves greens and I am always on the lookout for something new and fun. When I had tried feeding them dandelion greens before they all thought they were too bitter but boiling in a salt water bath did the trick and the seasonings were sooo good. I did put my favorites for greens on the table tabasco and vinegar but even without those I loved this recipe. Thanks a bunch :) oh yeah be sure to double or triple this you will need lots and they do cook down...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
I had never dared to try dandelion greens before and both my husband and I enjoyed this recipe very much. I did feel that the greens were not as sharp as I had expected, and I'm not sure whether that is because I bought organic greens in the supermarket or whether soaking them took away more of the sharp flavor than I would have liked. I am a bit uncomfortable with digging them out of my lawn. I know I don't put anything poisonous down on the grass, but still, it makes me nervous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fikenhild
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
A good recipe following reviewers' advice. I gathered up a couple of pounds of wild dandelions and followed shelbriggs' suggestion to use more dandelions than the recipe called for. I also used Miss KJ and Carjaq's advice by boiling them for about ten minutes to get the bitterness out. It worked. You really do need more than a pound as the dandelions cook down about like spinach. This recipe is really for two people rather than four. I liked the flavor added by the red pepper flakes. I'll be making dandelions again with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Potato and Mustard Greens Salad

See how to make an intensely flavorful potato salad with spicy mustard greens.

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States