Dana's Famous Swedish Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
I started cooking this for friends who were coming over and things got off to a bad start. DON"T mix the breadcrumbs and sour cream in a separate bowl! In thirty seconds it becomes a hard lump that is impossible to get evenly mixed into the meat without completely overworking it. Cut down on the clove! 1/2 teaspoon is WAY too much. When these are cooking all you'll smell is clove. Not good. Lastly, be prepared to get something on-the-fly to go with these. There is no sauce and the recipe mentions something about beef gravy but there are no instructions for one and the gravy is NOT listed as an ingredient so when you print up the shopping list, the gravy doesn't get included. The taste is nothing but clove. Rather than dumping it out, I quickly saved it by grabbing a jar of heavily flavored spaghetti sauce and boiling up some pasta. Luckily dinner was saved. Hand out dessert right away before someone notices the after taste and send everyone home with your apologies. Look at it this way, you'll never have to cook for your friends again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Big Mike Gone Small

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
My grandmother was from Sweden. She used allspice and nutmeg, white bread crumbs soaked in 1 cup milk and just a little onion. If the meatballs grew larger than 3/4", you had to do them over! When the last meatballs were browning in the pan, she sprinkled a tablespoon of flour over them. Then added 3/4 cup of cream to simmer the meatballs. Made a nice gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
I don't know why you'd use Italian flavored crumbs. We aways used mashed potatoes (no crumbs or sour cream) & less cloves. I've found if you deep-fry them, just 'til lightly browned then place them in a casserole with cream to barely cover. Bake. You'll have a delicious gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Winter Haven, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
MY Swedish relatives are rolling over in their graves. You NEVER use ITALIAN breadcrumbs. These meatballs have too many ingredients. Cinnamon, nutmeg, and cloves? No. Salt and pepper. That's all it takes for seasoning. Where are the onions?And your beef to pork is NEVER 50-50.At best it is 60-40. Beef to pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DaddysGyrl1028
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
Ooook listen up everyone...pay no attention to the low rattings 5this ones recived. It's a great base! Double the meat portions...use regular seasoned bread crumbs 1c......Half the nutmeg,cinnimon & clove.Double S&P add 1t of dry garlic. Used dryed onion still sauted in butter to lightly toast. Spread 2T of melted butter on a cookie sheet place raw meatballs on buttered cookie sheet & bake @ 375 / 15-20min. Bake In two batches adding fresh melted butter to the cookie sheet w/ each batch. Then scrap the butter and yummy brown bits into a pan to start a super yummy sause....add 3T of flour to start a rue.....mix 1c sour cream,1c milk 1t salt, 2T pepper dash nutmeg & clove.....add 1c stock to rue....stir till thick.....& slowly add milk mixture stir till thickened....pour sause over meatballs n bake 15-20min n enjoy! Sooooooo yummy good! We served w/ egg noodles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DaddysGyrl1028

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Havre De Grace, Maryland, USA
Living In: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
I made these last week and they were okay. I did not have the same problem as the other reviewer with the sour cream and bread crumbs, my mixture turned out just fine. I do agree that the clove is a little overpowering. I made a brown gravy (package mix) and added the leftover sour cream to it to make it creamier. Over all it wasn't bad, just not my preference in tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
My family loved them and asked me to keep the recipe so I can make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Terre Haute, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
All was well until I tried to combine the bread crumbs and sour cream, it was very hard to stir together and combined with the other ingredients. Once i mixed everyhting together it was too wet, i couldnt even form meatballs at all, I ended making it into a meatloaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momofapickyeater

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Was not at all what I thought it would be! Very Dry! Had to add milk to get it saucy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
I made these tonight, the clove's just overpowered the meatballs. Was not a family favorite..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sismac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Swedish Meatballs

See how to make amazing Swedish meatballs in a savory sauce.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States