Dale's Swedish Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
I made the meatballs only. Delicious! I did not put in the green pepper as the hubby doesn't like them. I will if he is not eating them. Great flavor, tender and NOT DRY! I used a can of cream of chicken soup, about 1/2 cup of sour cream, 1/2 soup can of milk and fresh pepper mixed for the sauce. I browned the meatballs and cooked them for about 1 1/2 hours in the sauce. Served over mashed potatoes=perfect comfort food!! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RACHIEH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Zeeland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
My son-in-law even liked these :o)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Iris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
I gave this 5 stars for the way I made it because Of Course I didnt have most of the ingredients. I used frozen meatballs and no coffee. I melted butter in a pan and added the flour to it and then I didnt have beef boullian so I used a packet of onion soup mix. I did the recipe as it sait to otherwise. It turned out GREAT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bradford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
This was very good. And really easy and quick to put together. I did leave out the cheddar cheese in the meatball since I didn't have any on hand. I baked the meatballs at 375 for 15 minutes and they were done perfectly. When making the sauce instead of the drippings, since I was baking the meatballs, I used 3 T of melted butter. I replaced one cup of water with a cup of coffee and left out the instant coffee. I did simmer the meatballs in the sauce after they were cooked. The meatballs came out tender and flavorful. I'll be making this again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
I'm giving this recipe 5 stars with the changes that were made by a couple other reviewers. I added the fresh gratted nutmeg to both the meatballs and the sauce, baked the meatballs at 350° for 30 minutes and then simmered in the sauce on the stovetop for a bit and I used a cup of coffee in place of the instant coffee and one cup of the water. These turned out really good and fairly easy to make. I will definately make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
These were delicious. If you are in a hurry bake some and save a few to cook in a skillet so you can get the drippings to make the gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Green River, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
Delicious. I didn't add the instant coffee as I don't use it and had none on hand. . I cooked the meatballs until done and then only warmed them in the sauce for approximately 8 minutes and then served over rice. My family all agreed a definite do over! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
Added a little nutmeg and allspice with a dash of cayenne pepper used some leftover coffee from the morning. Kids scarfed this one down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
Good. I used home made bread crumbs and regular strong coffee. The sauce was nice and thick and it just a little bit bland. Not sure I'll put in next time to enhance the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larry G Jones

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
Was a very good recipe. I love the Banquet frozen dinner swedish meatballs and have been looking for years for a recipe that tastes close...this one does. The meatballs are really tender and the sauce is great. The only problem I had is the amount of sauce. We like ours with enough to pour over the noodles too & even though I doubled the sauce part of the recipe there was hardly any left after the simmering. I'm going to try canning the sauce and freezing some meatballs separately then I can heat the balls up in the sauce when I cook it & there might be more left over. Overall a very good recipe & will definately be making it many times more! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Rocksprings, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

How to Make Swedish Meatballs

See how to make amazing Swedish meatballs in a savory sauce.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States