Dale's Swedish Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2004
the meatballs were great, however for the sauce next time i will use either less coffee or none at all. will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
Sounds like a good receipe but everyone is forgetting the true taste of the Sweden meatball,add nutmeg. Yes that's right, freshly grated prefered. I usually add 1/2 teaspoon to 1lb of ground beef or more to your likng. You will be amazed at the taste. Also add some to the gravy, start small and experiment as the flavor can over power the dish. You'll never make it again without this ingredient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lolita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Cresco, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2005
This recipe was pretty good. I think some fresh mushrooms would add a lot to it, if you like them. It's an even easier recipe if you bake the meatballs in a 400 degree oven for about 25 minutes, rather than on the stove. You can stick them in the oven and do other things while they bake. Still scrape the sheet they bake on for "pan drippings" though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
This was very good. And really easy and quick to put together. I did leave out the cheddar cheese in the meatball since I didn't have any on hand. I baked the meatballs at 375 for 15 minutes and they were done perfectly. When making the sauce instead of the drippings, since I was baking the meatballs, I used 3 T of melted butter. I replaced one cup of water with a cup of coffee and left out the instant coffee. I did simmer the meatballs in the sauce after they were cooked. The meatballs came out tender and flavorful. I'll be making this again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2006
I tried this recipe last week. I liked that out of most of the recipes I looked at it had the lowest fat content. I also liked that it incorporated veggies. My only problem was that I used ground turkey instead of ground beef. I found that I'm not a fan of the texture of ground turkey as compared to ground beef. I used it once before in chilli and I wasn't too impressed there either. I will try the recipe again with ground beef instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eas524

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Bend, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2005
these meatballs were good but not a lot of flavor. I baked them also, took about 65 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
Solid. Very tasty. I'm going to use this to make mini meatball appetizers for my next gathering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Curt Rowan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jeannette, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Maricopa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
Good. I used home made bread crumbs and regular strong coffee. The sauce was nice and thick and it just a little bit bland. Not sure I'll put in next time to enhance the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larry G Jones

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2007
I made this last night. My husband liked it, but I thought it was just ok. I served it over noodles. I omitted the coffee. I added a lil more sour cream. I also made the meatballs larger than the recipe says. They came out pretty well cooked from my nonstick pan on the stove top. The sauce was alright...it needed more seasoning. I added salt, pepper, and parsley. I also cut up some fresh mushrooms and added them to the meatballs. Next time I think I will omit the green pepper, as I didnt really like the flavor. I didnt think they needed cheedar cheese either. Other than that, I would probably make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle F

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Bitburg, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
This is a really great recipe. I use the meatballs from Ikea instead of making my own, lazy I know! The sauce is great and the only thing I changed was omitting the coffee granules - that just sounded like a weird addition to me. I really like the sour cream in it, gives it a bit of tang, which is nice. Otherwise very yummy and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Bradford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

How to Make Swedish Meatballs

See how to make amazing Swedish meatballs in a savory sauce.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States