Dale's Swedish Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
I added extra sour cream and some dill. It was a little bland but good. I baked the meatballs for convenience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nakina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Constable, New York, USA
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2007
I made this last night. My husband liked it, but I thought it was just ok. I served it over noodles. I omitted the coffee. I added a lil more sour cream. I also made the meatballs larger than the recipe says. They came out pretty well cooked from my nonstick pan on the stove top. The sauce was alright...it needed more seasoning. I added salt, pepper, and parsley. I also cut up some fresh mushrooms and added them to the meatballs. Next time I think I will omit the green pepper, as I didnt really like the flavor. I didnt think they needed cheedar cheese either. Other than that, I would probably make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle F

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Bitburg, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2007
I didn't like the instant coffee taste in the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Craig

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
This is a really great recipe. I use the meatballs from Ikea instead of making my own, lazy I know! The sauce is great and the only thing I changed was omitting the coffee granules - that just sounded like a weird addition to me. I really like the sour cream in it, gives it a bit of tang, which is nice. Otherwise very yummy and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Bradford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
I thought this recipe was ok. Seasoning wasn't mentioned in this recipe so I felt it lacked flavor. After adding seasoning salt, it was better. Also, trying to brown the meatballs was difficult since they stuck to the pan. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2006
I tried this recipe last week. I liked that out of most of the recipes I looked at it had the lowest fat content. I also liked that it incorporated veggies. My only problem was that I used ground turkey instead of ground beef. I found that I'm not a fan of the texture of ground turkey as compared to ground beef. I used it once before in chilli and I wasn't too impressed there either. I will try the recipe again with ground beef instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eas524

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Bend, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2006
This was good. I didn't use the coffee in the sauce so I added in fresh parsley. I also didn't add the cheese or green pepper to the meatballs just because I didn't have either on hand. I think I will make this again, a good recipe for ground beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2006
Liked the meatball recipe, didn't like the coffee taste in the gravy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Ramsey, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Harford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
Overall not a bad recipe, I really didn't like the coffee in it and will be looking for a different recipe for this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2005
these meatballs were good but not a lot of flavor. I baked them also, took about 65 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

How to Make Swedish Meatballs

See how to make amazing Swedish meatballs in a savory sauce.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States