Dale's Swedish Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
I just used the sauce, but I didn't use the drippings or coffee. I added about 1/2 tsp nutmeg to the flour and followed the rest of the recipe adding some leftover frozen meatballs we had and then letting it simmer and thicken. This is yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Blaine, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
i didnt find this to be bland like others, but it was missing something. i used ground turkey so maybe that was my problem, but they were good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meghan Jean Anderson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Nebraska City, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
Very tasty meatballs, and I love the flavor the coffee adds to the beef stock. I omit the green pepper, and use Parmesan cheese instead of cheddar. Great served over whole wheat noodles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bellepepper
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
I was interested in trying this recipe because it didn’t call for creamed soup. I loved the meatballs in this and wouldn’t change them, although I did add salt when making them and baked them at 375 for 20 minutes (mine were a little larger than 1 inch). The gravy, however, really didn’t do much for me. I didn’t have coffee granules, so maybe that was it. It was very thin so I thickened it with a little Wondra. I should have added a splash of white wine or sherry. I think that would have improved it. Next time I will try making this with the coffee to see if that adds the pizzazz this needs. Also, I made the gravy ahead of time but did not add the sour cream. I added it to the cool gravy and gently reheated. No chance of the sour cream “breaking” or “curdling” that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
This was very good. And really easy and quick to put together. I did leave out the cheddar cheese in the meatball since I didn't have any on hand. I baked the meatballs at 375 for 15 minutes and they were done perfectly. When making the sauce instead of the drippings, since I was baking the meatballs, I used 3 T of melted butter. I replaced one cup of water with a cup of coffee and left out the instant coffee. I did simmer the meatballs in the sauce after they were cooked. The meatballs came out tender and flavorful. I'll be making this again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
I gave this 5 stars for the way I made it because Of Course I didnt have most of the ingredients. I used frozen meatballs and no coffee. I melted butter in a pan and added the flour to it and then I didnt have beef boullian so I used a packet of onion soup mix. I did the recipe as it sait to otherwise. It turned out GREAT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bradford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
Solid. Very tasty. I'm going to use this to make mini meatball appetizers for my next gathering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Curt Rowan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jeannette, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Maricopa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
My son-in-law even liked these :o)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Iris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
Good. I used home made bread crumbs and regular strong coffee. The sauce was nice and thick and it just a little bit bland. Not sure I'll put in next time to enhance the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larry G Jones

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
I loved the sause i will use it in another recipe but the meat ball were very bland,my advice take the sause its great leave the rest.ps i did leave out the coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

How to Make Swedish Meatballs

See how to make amazing Swedish meatballs in a savory sauce.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States