Dale's Pulled Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
I authored this recipe. I modified it slightly by increasing the liquid smoke to 2 tablespoons for more smoky flavor. I slow roast the roast for 31/2 hours so that the roast absorbs more flavor. I no longer shred the pork with forks, rather I shred it with my fingers so that I can remove all chunks of fat and remove any slimy fat or gristle from the meat. A 3 pound pork shoulder roast will make about 4½ packed cups of shredded pork. Use this base recipe for making carnitas, green chili or barbecue pork. Just use your favorite recipe for making green chili or barbecue pork with the pulled pork from this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
So tender and tasty and above all for me, Simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maxportman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tustin, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
This pork was FAN-FREAKIN'-TASTIC! We loved it. We frequent a restaurant that serves excellent carnitas, so this recipe caught my eye when I was looking for something to do with some pork for dinner. I did make some additions, just because of my family's preferences. I used a pork loin instead of a pork shoulder and it still came out perfect. I didn't have any liquid smoke on hand, so I skipped that part. After adding the pork back to the pot we dumped a bag full of roasted, peeled & chopped green chilis because we are New Mexican natives and that is what we do. I thought it would make it really spicy, but it wasn't. I felt that the green chili added an extra dimension that we really enjoyed. We served it over warm corn tortillas with onions, tomatoes, cilantro and salsa. It was an excellent meal. Thank you for sharing this recipe, our family will repeat it over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
SOOOO easy!! And I loved this recipe because it did not use a slow cooker like 99% of the other pulled pork recipes on here. I don't own one, so its not possible for me. I used the boneless pork ribs I had on hand (3 were plenty for a dinner for 2 with leftovers). I kept all spices and proportions the same as stated in the recipe, but added a squirt each of ketchup and dijon as well as a tablespoon of brown sugar to the chicken broth before placing in the oven. DONT get scared when your onions look almost burnt, its just extreme carmelization and will add that "thing" to your pulled pork that is out of this world. i ended by tossing in a quality, sweet BBQ sauce, and serving on toasted bread. felt like I used a secret southern family recipe or something!! My boyfriend was floored :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Dale all i can say is thank you, thank you, thank you! just made this recipe this evening and it was fantastic!! i had almost given up on pork butt all together because it would either come out dry and tough or soggy and inedible. this recipe is perfect! i wish i could give it 10 stars. i followed it to a tee but read the update where you had added more liquid smoke and pulled it apart with your hands so i followed those modified directions. the pork roast came out juicy and full of flavor and fell off the bone without any effort at all. if you have ever had problems with pork butt like i have then this is the no fail recipe for you. easy to make and delicious which is how it should be
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mccook, Nebraska, USA
Living In: North Platte, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
that was terrible .....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
Outstanding recipe!!! Add a little brown sugar and honey for a sweeter flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
I just made this and WOW! It fell apart and was so delicious that my whole decided not to even use the buns and BBQ sauce we bought to make pulled pork sandwiches. We ate it just the way the recipe says to. The only things I did differently were 1. I did not have liquid smoke so I used Worcestershire sauce (1 tsp) and 2. I did not mix the shredded pork in the cooking juices but instead poured the juices in a gravy bowl to add on at the table. I love this recipe! So easy and oh so good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
I was looking for a pulled pork recipe not smothered in BBQ sauce since we had some at a cookout and my family seemed to like it better. Based on our preferences I modified this recipe as follows: I used a 1.2lb pork tenderloin because that's the perfect size for one dinner for us. I skipped the onions since the kids won't eat them. I added 2T honey to the liquid. I accidentally used 2 1/4 Tablespoons liq smoke instead of teaspoons (oops!!). And I seared the meat in a skillet but put the meat and liquid into a glass baking dish covered with foil to bake it. I only cooked it for 2.5 hours. Now the result: THIS WAS ABSOLUTELY FANTASTIC. So simple to make and the whole family loved it!! The smoke flavor was wonderful, and I would use 2T again. It was not overpowering at all and had a nice flavor. Most of all this was incredibly moist! After I shredded the meat i tossed it back in the baking pan with tongs, just coating all the meat with he liquid. pretty much all got absorbed back into the meat. It was not greasy at all and so moist and flavorful. I HIGHLY recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
A family favorite! I used Worcester instead of liquid smoke and my husband who is picky requested it for Fathers Day. Love it, so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Bourbon-Mango Pulled Pork

Mangos star in this spicy, smoky, slightly sweet slow-cooker pulled pork.

Chef John's Pulled Pork BBQ

Turn pork shoulder into delicious shredded BBQ pork for sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States