Dal Makhani (Indian Lentils) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
TOO SALTY!! This recipe has a lot of delicious flavors going on but I really wish I would have read the other comments about the salt. I would reduce the salt to maybe 1 or 2 teaspoons. I'm wondering if the person who wrote this recipe meant to only put 2 tsps and mistook tsps for tbsps. Also, I'm not sure where the picture thats shown is from, it doesn't look like that at all. Then again, I couldn't find fenugreek leaves and used ground fenugreek seeds instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
This was delicious! So flavorful! I tasted the beans before adding the spices to see if the dry kidney beans were soft yet and it was like taking a drink from the ocean! Had to pour the beans through a colander, put back in pot, and add water then continue. I should have read the comments haha, easy on that salt! Vegan butter worked like a charm. Throughly enjoyed this, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
Dried fenugreek is easily available in Indian grocery stores .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
I made this yesterday and found the salt content to be way too high. I've hand written a comment to use two TEAspoons of salt, not two TABLEspoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ed Trotter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
Dried methi leaves, even fresh bunches of leaves, are found in almost any Indian grocery of which there are many in the ny/ nj areas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
This was delicious. I used only 1 Tbsp. of salt, though, and that was plenty. I might even reduce it next time. I also couldn't find fenugreek leaves; it was still very flavourful without them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda Ann McFadden-Bogantes
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
While it isnt the best indian recipe its by far the worlds best lentil recipe but I didnt use much salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
My husband and I have made many different types of dal over the years, that were all great, but we will be making this dal makhani for now on. It's absolutely delicious!!! In fact my husband loved it so much he had leftover dal and brown rice for breakfast this morning, lol! I did make some minor changes to the recipe. Instead of 2 Tbsp salt, I only added 1 tsp of salt and it was plenty enough, I may consider adding even less the next time I make it. Also, in place of the butter and heavy cream, I used 2 Tbsp trans-fat free margarine and fat-free half and half. And lastly, SOGOLONDJATA is right, fenugreek leaves are close to impossible to find state side. I added 1 Tbsp fenugreek seeds in place of the leaves; the flavor is much more intense in the seeds, but they are much easier to find in an Indian spice market. Be sure to remove the bay leaves, cloves, cinnamon (I left it whole; its easier to fetch out) and black cardamom before eating, especially if your serving to children. Another thought ~ after toasting the spices, it would be fairly easy to wrap them in cheese cloth. Thank you so very much for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie Shumway-Khan

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Niagara Falls, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
Followed the recipe to the tee, and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Maria Baldridge
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
I also cut the salt - 2tsp works great. I have most of these spices in my cupboard, but I was missing a few - didn't matter. I also used ghee instead of butter, which is the magic answer for me. Get it at Indian grocers, Trader Joe's, or make some clarified butter yourself. It's worth it. Very rich and warm - and delicious with basmati rice. Note: I removed the bay leaves before eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria Baldridge

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

How to Make Braised Black Lentils

See how to make black lentils braised in chicken stock.

Indian Vegetable Bhaji

A spicy Indian dry curry with potatoes, cauliflower, carrots, and peas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States