Dakota's Texas Style Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by DaveMW
Reviewed: May 9, 2008
This is a wonderful recipe! It was nice to find a recipe for chili that didn't include beans. This is no wimpy chili either, because it has hunks of beef in a spicy yet extraordinarily flavorful sauce. We froze the extras & when thawed we heated, added some fresh shredded cheese & sour cream & it was still great. We will definitely make this again! By the way, take the submitters advice & make the delicious cornbread that was mentioned, the two recipes make for a great meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
I knew this recipe would be pretty "spicy" (too much so for the kids) so I only added 2 chipotle peppers. Are those sirens I hear?...Yep...this is definitely 5 alarm chili. Yikes, my burning mouth! LOL. It was good but not kid friendly. To save my kids I had to add the following to tone down the heat: 1 can tomato sauce and 1/4 cup of sugar. I also felt the chili needed salt so I added a few teaspoons of the kosher variety. I served with shredded cheddar, cilantro, sour cream and corn bread. Much better. Oh, and have an ice cold glass of milk at the ready to extinguish further "fires". Thanks for sharing the recipe. It was fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5THSISTER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salina, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
Hi, I'm the author of the recipe. If you like chili with some zip but not too much heat, try omitting the cayenne pepper. I tried that last night and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Edgewood, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
This recipe is excellent! The only change I made was to brown the meat in the dutch oven , with the onions and spices, prior to adding the beer and water. I made rice to put it over and added cheese and sour cream. This is a recipe I'll make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
This chili recipe was delicious! My family loved it! Instead of beef chuck, I added ground bison and skipped on the cayenne pepper and oregano to make it more kid-friendly. I added beef broth instead of water. I will do this one again.Very tasty =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyMayhem32

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
This is really excellent. We used brisket for a meat base and served with white rice. Thanks for sharing this super recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Glen Cuchine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
Tasty & different from tomato based chili. I added kosher salt, cocoa powder and a bit of brown sugar. It was a bit on the thin side since I cooked it in a slow cooker, so I added two more tablespoons of cornmeal and let it cook on high with the lid off for the last 30 minutes or so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Acworth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
Fantastic! I live in Texas, and yes, no beans in our chili, please! Very good recipe, my only modification was to chop up a serrano pepper and spice it up a bit more. Everyone in the house, including guests, went crazy for this one! Well done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Not sure if I had problems because I halved it, or if it was because I finished it in a crock pot after browning everything, but this was just an "okay" recipe for me. It was a little thin so I added more cornmeal to make it "chili" instead of "stew." It also needed a decent amount of salt and a few healthy squirts of ketchup (no, not joking, Texans put ketchup in EVERYTHING). After that it was pretty good. I also ommited the cayenne - thanks for that tip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindz

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
Even though we truly like hot & spicy foods, this was a little much. It is definitely not a recipe you would use when company is coming unless you know for sure they like extra hot foods. I'm all for Texas style chili but from what I've eaten in the past, this isn't it. Sorry..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Turkey Chili

Watch how to make a simple recipe for delicious turkey chili.

Debdoozie's Blue Ribbon Chili

This may be the easiest chili recipe you ever make. And it's delicious!

HERDEZ® Roasted Pasilla Pepper Chili

See how to make a hearty, flavorful chili in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States