Dakota's Texas Style Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
My pot of chili is on the stove and smells wonderful. I don't have a review at this time as we have not tasted but I wanted to share my discovery .... as I was about to open the THIRD can of Chipotle peppers I re-read the recipe again for the tenth time ..... the recipe calls for 4-PEPPERS. Not 4 -CANS of peppers. Hope this helps. Also, I found it easy to remove seeds with gloves on, knife in one hand .... on a cutting board slice the pepper gently and used fingers to open up pepper and remove/slide off seeds. Ok, I guess I have to rate the recipe before I can submit my comments so I am going to think the best and rate it 5-stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Followed the directions and all I got was a watery tasting stew - I don't recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MikeyMech

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
This was way to hot for my whimpy palette but I will make it again and cut back on the heat. A few things I need some clarification on. Do you add the bacon or is it just for the grease? Also, the chipotle peppers - what size can and do you add the Adobe sauce to the pot? The peppers were tough to seed because they were so soft. How did everyone else seed them? I ended up rinsing them to get the seeds and membrane out. All in all, if you like heat, then this will float your boat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
This is very much like my own recipe and is very good, like mine. I did add a tablespoon of basil pesto. I learned to make authentic Mexican chili in New Mexico from a Mexican chef, but whereas she bought whole dried red chilis, seeded them and simmered in water at least an hour then food-processed it, I just buy dried red chili powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
Made this for last Friday's baseball wild card games and it didn't make it through the ninth inning! As far as the spice level, I'd call it "three-star" spicy, which is just what I like. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seth Kolloen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
Just wanted to let everyone know, this chili is awesome! My husband just won first place in in a chili cook-off with this!!! All three judges voted his number 1, on appearance, flavor and texture. You can't go wrong with this one! Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raynham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
This was absolutely awesome chili! We had a "It's Chili Today!" luncheon at work and we had 5 different kinds of chili. I chose to make this one because several of my co-workers can't eat beans. I was a little skeptical at first, but it smelled wonderful! It was the first chili completely gone! Huge hit! I used a bottom round roast I had bought on sale and used beef broth for most of the liquid. I did brown the beef cubes just to impart a little more flavor. Otherwise, made it as written. Have forwarded to my son who is a "chili nut"! I know he will up the heat, as I will probably do next time, and believe me, there will definitely be a next time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
Great flavor, totally forgot to de-seed the chipoltles though!!! Had to add some sugar and a can of tomato paste to rescue it but still excellent!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
This recipe is spectacular! It is not for everyone, though. I'm a native new mexican with a taste for red/green chile. I used special reserve hot new mexican red chile, which surely contributed to the heat of it. I wound up adding some brown sugar and cheddar cheese as a garnish to take off some of the heat. I will definitely make this again! (I also used an extra beer in place of some of the water.) :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
I usually cannot stand chili, but everyone in my family wanted chili for dinner at hunting camp so I decided to make this recipe (it was my turn to cook). This was without a doubt the best chili ever. Even the bean lovers in my family (which is everyone but me) begged for more. I kicked it up a bit more by cutting the chipolte chili's down and adding 3 minced Jalepenos and 2 habenero's. it was not overpowering by any means and actually gave it a real nice flavor. Truly is a great chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Turkey Chili

Watch how to make a simple recipe for delicious turkey chili.

Debdoozie's Blue Ribbon Chili

This may be the easiest chili recipe you ever make. And it's delicious!

HERDEZ® Roasted Pasilla Pepper Chili

See how to make a hearty, flavorful chili in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States