Dakota's Texas Style Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Followed the directions and all I got was a watery tasting stew - I don't recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MikeyMech

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
This was way to hot for my whimpy palette but I will make it again and cut back on the heat. A few things I need some clarification on. Do you add the bacon or is it just for the grease? Also, the chipotle peppers - what size can and do you add the Adobe sauce to the pot? The peppers were tough to seed because they were so soft. How did everyone else seed them? I ended up rinsing them to get the seeds and membrane out. All in all, if you like heat, then this will float your boat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
This is very much like my own recipe and is very good, like mine. I did add a tablespoon of basil pesto. I learned to make authentic Mexican chili in New Mexico from a Mexican chef, but whereas she bought whole dried red chilis, seeded them and simmered in water at least an hour then food-processed it, I just buy dried red chili powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
Made this for last Friday's baseball wild card games and it didn't make it through the ninth inning! As far as the spice level, I'd call it "three-star" spicy, which is just what I like. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seth K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
Just wanted to let everyone know, this chili is awesome! My husband just won first place in in a chili cook-off with this!!! All three judges voted his number 1, on appearance, flavor and texture. You can't go wrong with this one! Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raynham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
This was absolutely awesome chili! We had a "It's Chili Today!" luncheon at work and we had 5 different kinds of chili. I chose to make this one because several of my co-workers can't eat beans. I was a little skeptical at first, but it smelled wonderful! It was the first chili completely gone! Huge hit! I used a bottom round roast I had bought on sale and used beef broth for most of the liquid. I did brown the beef cubes just to impart a little more flavor. Otherwise, made it as written. Have forwarded to my son who is a "chili nut"! I know he will up the heat, as I will probably do next time, and believe me, there will definitely be a next time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
Great flavor, totally forgot to de-seed the chipoltles though!!! Had to add some sugar and a can of tomato paste to rescue it but still excellent!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
This recipe is spectacular! It is not for everyone, though. I'm a native new mexican with a taste for red/green chile. I used special reserve hot new mexican red chile, which surely contributed to the heat of it. I wound up adding some brown sugar and cheddar cheese as a garnish to take off some of the heat. I will definitely make this again! (I also used an extra beer in place of some of the water.) :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
I usually cannot stand chili, but everyone in my family wanted chili for dinner at hunting camp so I decided to make this recipe (it was my turn to cook). This was without a doubt the best chili ever. Even the bean lovers in my family (which is everyone but me) begged for more. I kicked it up a bit more by cutting the chipolte chili's down and adding 3 minced Jalepenos and 2 habenero's. it was not overpowering by any means and actually gave it a real nice flavor. Truly is a great chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica Paige
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
I was looking for a low carb chili recipe & this fit the bill. I do have to agree with 5th Sister...holy cow was that hot (but again it was expected)! I did use beef broth instead of water and mine was not runny at all, maybe because I simmered it for the full 3 hours. Thank you Dakota01 for sharing, my husband loved this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Paige

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Turkey Chili

Watch how to make a simple recipe for delicious turkey chili.

Alligator Chili

What's cooking in Mendham, N.J.? Doug's chili, with a little bite.

How to Make Chili

See how to mix up a big ol’ pot of chili—in just 99 seconds!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States