Dakota's Texas Style Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
My pot of chili is on the stove and smells wonderful. I don't have a review at this time as we have not tasted but I wanted to share my discovery .... as I was about to open the THIRD can of Chipotle peppers I re-read the recipe again for the tenth time ..... the recipe calls for 4-PEPPERS. Not 4 -CANS of peppers. Hope this helps. Also, I found it easy to remove seeds with gloves on, knife in one hand .... on a cutting board slice the pepper gently and used fingers to open up pepper and remove/slide off seeds. Ok, I guess I have to rate the recipe before I can submit my comments so I am going to think the best and rate it 5-stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Followed the directions and all I got was a watery tasting stew - I don't recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MikeyMech

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
This was way to hot for my whimpy palette but I will make it again and cut back on the heat. A few things I need some clarification on. Do you add the bacon or is it just for the grease? Also, the chipotle peppers - what size can and do you add the Adobe sauce to the pot? The peppers were tough to seed because they were so soft. How did everyone else seed them? I ended up rinsing them to get the seeds and membrane out. All in all, if you like heat, then this will float your boat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
This is very much like my own recipe and is very good, like mine. I did add a tablespoon of basil pesto. I learned to make authentic Mexican chili in New Mexico from a Mexican chef, but whereas she bought whole dried red chilis, seeded them and simmered in water at least an hour then food-processed it, I just buy dried red chili powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
Made this for last Friday's baseball wild card games and it didn't make it through the ninth inning! As far as the spice level, I'd call it "three-star" spicy, which is just what I like. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seth Kolloen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
Just wanted to let everyone know, this chili is awesome! My husband just won first place in in a chili cook-off with this!!! All three judges voted his number 1, on appearance, flavor and texture. You can't go wrong with this one! Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raynham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
This was absolutely awesome chili! We had a "It's Chili Today!" luncheon at work and we had 5 different kinds of chili. I chose to make this one because several of my co-workers can't eat beans. I was a little skeptical at first, but it smelled wonderful! It was the first chili completely gone! Huge hit! I used a bottom round roast I had bought on sale and used beef broth for most of the liquid. I did brown the beef cubes just to impart a little more flavor. Otherwise, made it as written. Have forwarded to my son who is a "chili nut"! I know he will up the heat, as I will probably do next time, and believe me, there will definitely be a next time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
Great flavor, totally forgot to de-seed the chipoltles though!!! Had to add some sugar and a can of tomato paste to rescue it but still excellent!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
This recipe is spectacular! It is not for everyone, though. I'm a native new mexican with a taste for red/green chile. I used special reserve hot new mexican red chile, which surely contributed to the heat of it. I wound up adding some brown sugar and cheddar cheese as a garnish to take off some of the heat. I will definitely make this again! (I also used an extra beer in place of some of the water.) :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
I usually cannot stand chili, but everyone in my family wanted chili for dinner at hunting camp so I decided to make this recipe (it was my turn to cook). This was without a doubt the best chili ever. Even the bean lovers in my family (which is everyone but me) begged for more. I kicked it up a bit more by cutting the chipolte chili's down and adding 3 minced Jalepenos and 2 habenero's. it was not overpowering by any means and actually gave it a real nice flavor. Truly is a great chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Turkey Chili

Watch how to make a simple recipe for delicious turkey chili.

Debdoozie's Blue Ribbon Chili

This may be the easiest chili recipe you ever make. And it's delicious!

HERDEZ® Roasted Pasilla Pepper Chili

See how to make a hearty, flavorful chili in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States