Daisy Brand Sour Cream Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
One of the best chocolate cakes I've ever made. Super moist and the our cream in the icing cut the sweetness a bit and made it scrumptious!! Easy recipe and quite forgiving for novice bakers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ltokarchuk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
This cake is SO good! I have made this cake twice and it was amazing both times! On the second cake I made a raspberry filling that complimented this cake so well! This is definitely my go to chocolate cake from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
Perfect as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Suker
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
What earned this cake 5 stars was the icing. I am not an icing fan, but the delicate blend of sour cream/butter was wonderful. I made the recipe with only one substitution; I used milk (1%) instead of water in the batter. These made 20 cupcakes that peaked nicely, and the frosting was just enough to liberally frost all 20! I will definitely make the icing again. The cake I might play with the "fat" part, as I am not partial to oil in my cakes. (Still VERY good as is!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by margaritka
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
Good cake! We enjoyed it very much. It was a bit too sweet for our taste though. This time I made it according to the recipe with one exception I had to substitute vanilla extract for rum (did't realize I was out of vanilla), but it ended up being very tasty. Next time when I make this cake I will slice it on 4 layers and add frosting in between 2 layers of cream cheese frosting. Also will add less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
This cake was like a dream! My husband an I absolutely loved it. Words can not describe how lovely this cake was. But it's definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandi

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
This a perfectly fabulous cake. It was loved in my house and I highly recommend it and I wouldn't change a thing. I found the directions on making the frosting a little tedious but it turned out so well I don't care. It was ahuge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Great recipe!I'm a terrible cook and this turned out sooo good. My whole family thought it was so moist and delicious.One thing though, my frosting came out runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
This cake is so moist. I took it to a poker party and everyone had more than one piece! The only down side was that there weren't any leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
unbelievably good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States