Daisy Brand Sour Cream Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
I would try this again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
Excellent cake. Made a couple small changes like doubling the vanilla and adding a wee bit more melted chocolate than it called for. Also halved the recipe, kept it at one egg though and baked it in a 8x8 for 30 minutes. Had NO crumbling problems. Was super moist. Super delicious and would make it again in a heart beat. I also didn't make the frosting, instead I made a loose ganache with melted semi sweet chocolate, heavy cream and stirred in half a cup of chopped, roasted nuts and some diced dried cherries, poured it over the warm cake and called it a Black Forest Cake. Everyone asked for a second slice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikolette T

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
This recipe was great! However, there were two issues I had with the cake. 1) The cake itself was very crumbly and when I took it out of the pan, it actually broke in two. Next time, I would freeze for 15-30 minutes before frosting. 2) I began to mix the frosting, and found that after adding the first cup of powdered sugar, it had the consistency of sand. Instead of waiting to add the sour cream, I added that, then mixed in the other two cups, then added the milk at the end. Aside from these two issues, awesome cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
This recipe is amazing. It only lasted a day and a half. Added an extra egg because of comments but will try just one next time. Also used milk in place of water. Also used a sprinkle of coffee for extra flavor. Anyone who can't make this may need to rethink their process. I followed it to the letter and had no issues at all. Perfect!!!! Thanks so Much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I needed a cake for an upcoming colleague birthday and thought I'd try this one out on my daughter-in-law first, as she had a birthday coming up also. I didn't get to try any of the finished cake, but she told me it was awesome and had eaten about 1/3 of it herself. I did taste the frosting (what baker doesn't?) and the cake batter and they were very yummy! I only made two minor changes (based on other reviews). I cut the baking soda in half and used 1/2 cup warm water and 1/2 cup coffee. I had only 1/4 C of real butter so I used 1/4 of baking margarine with it in the frosting. Was the best frosting I've ever tasted and it made enough to frost the entire cake generously. Those canned frostings have to really be stretched to get around a cake anymore. Will definitely make this for my co-worker's birthday next week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
This is a wonderful cake. Great body, chocolaty, moist. Everyone raved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
This was one of the best cakes I have ever made. Maybe I haven't looked hard enough, but I have never found a cake recipe that I like better than a cake-mix cake...until today. I followed the recipe exactly, except I omitted the chocolate frosting and made a cream cheese one instead (my husband's request- it was his birthday so I had to!). The cake was moist, and the flavor was outstanding. I did not have two 8 inch cake pans so I used 9 inch pans instead and cooked it for 25 minutes. It was great! The cream cheese frosting complemented the chocolate cake nicely, though next time I will definitely try the frosting as written because if it is anywhere near as good as the cake I'm sure I will love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Delicious cake! moist, sweet enough...divine..made some additions: 3/4 tsp instant coffee, pinch of salt and didn't use the icing on the recipe, instead used home made fudge....awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
This cake is, indeed, wonderful. Time consuming, but definitely worth it. The only change I made was to use a cup of brewed coffee instead of a cup of water in the batter. I would make this moist, chocolaty cake again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
This cake is amazing. Not really sweet than I suspected it would but very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries with a cinnamon-sugar and pecan filling make a 5-star coffee cake.

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States