Daisy Brand Sour Cream Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
Terrible tasting cake. No flavor and flour tasting. I followed the directions to the T. I'm having a hard time with all the compliments on it, that is how bad it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
My husband kept raving about a sour cream chocolate cake his friend's mother made when he was a teenager. So I went searching for a recipe. I made this today for his birthday. I have to admit this was heavenly and I'm not a cake person. I did use a chocolate butter cream frosting rather than the one recommended in the recipe. Thank you for sharing. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
Just made this cake and it was disappointing. The cake was dry and the icing too sweet. Followed the recipe to the letter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
This recipe is super easy if you prep all your ingredients beforehand. My husband would not eat any chocolate cake that was made before this one. We had decided not too long ago to throw out all prepackaged and processed foods (including boxed cake mixes and brownie mixes etc) and learning to bake from scratch was something I thought would be difficult. Well, his sister's birthday came up and since she loves chocolate cake I made this one...my husband not only ate it he requests it as do all my co-workers. Can't say enough good about it. Easy, extra moist and delicious !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
The cake was good but I had trouble with the icing being too runny. I was out of time so I ran to the store and bought a can of icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
THIS CAKE WAS DELICIOUS. IT WAS SUPER MOIST. WE MADE IT INTO CUPCAKES AND IT WAS LOVED BY ALL!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
I would try this again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
Excellent cake. Made a couple small changes like doubling the vanilla and adding a wee bit more melted chocolate than it called for. Also halved the recipe, kept it at one egg though and baked it in a 8x8 for 30 minutes. Had NO crumbling problems. Was super moist. Super delicious and would make it again in a heart beat. I also didn't make the frosting, instead I made a loose ganache with melted semi sweet chocolate, heavy cream and stirred in half a cup of chopped, roasted nuts and some diced dried cherries, poured it over the warm cake and called it a Black Forest Cake. Everyone asked for a second slice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikolette T

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
This recipe was great! However, there were two issues I had with the cake. 1) The cake itself was very crumbly and when I took it out of the pan, it actually broke in two. Next time, I would freeze for 15-30 minutes before frosting. 2) I began to mix the frosting, and found that after adding the first cup of powdered sugar, it had the consistency of sand. Instead of waiting to add the sour cream, I added that, then mixed in the other two cups, then added the milk at the end. Aside from these two issues, awesome cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
This recipe is amazing. It only lasted a day and a half. Added an extra egg because of comments but will try just one next time. Also used milk in place of water. Also used a sprinkle of coffee for extra flavor. Anyone who can't make this may need to rethink their process. I followed it to the letter and had no issues at all. Perfect!!!! Thanks so Much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States