Daisy Brand Sour Cream Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
This cake is so moist. I took it to a poker party and everyone had more than one piece! The only down side was that there weren't any leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
This cake was like a dream! My husband an I absolutely loved it. Words can not describe how lovely this cake was. But it's definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandi

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
Perfect as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Suker
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
What earned this cake 5 stars was the icing. I am not an icing fan, but the delicate blend of sour cream/butter was wonderful. I made the recipe with only one substitution; I used milk (1%) instead of water in the batter. These made 20 cupcakes that peaked nicely, and the frosting was just enough to liberally frost all 20! I will definitely make the icing again. The cake I might play with the "fat" part, as I am not partial to oil in my cakes. (Still VERY good as is!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
This a perfectly fabulous cake. It was loved in my house and I highly recommend it and I wouldn't change a thing. I found the directions on making the frosting a little tedious but it turned out so well I don't care. It was ahuge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by margaritka
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
Good cake! We enjoyed it very much. It was a bit too sweet for our taste though. This time I made it according to the recipe with one exception I had to substitute vanilla extract for rum (did't realize I was out of vanilla), but it ended up being very tasty. Next time when I make this cake I will slice it on 4 layers and add frosting in between 2 layers of cream cheese frosting. Also will add less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Great recipe!I'm a terrible cook and this turned out sooo good. My whole family thought it was so moist and delicious.One thing though, my frosting came out runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
This cake is SO good! I have made this cake twice and it was amazing both times! On the second cake I made a raspberry filling that complimented this cake so well! This is definitely my go to chocolate cake from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
unbelievably good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
One of the best chocolate cakes I've ever made. Super moist and the our cream in the icing cut the sweetness a bit and made it scrumptious!! Easy recipe and quite forgiving for novice bakers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ltokarchuk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States